CD Review: Sevendust “Kill the Flaw”

“Kill the Flaw”
Asylum/7Bros. Records
Produced by: Sevendust
Tracks: 11

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Southern hard rockers Sevendust are back with a brand new album titled “Kill the Flaw”. This will be the bands 11th studio album which coincidentally features 11 new tracks which were not only performed by the band but also produced by the group as well.

Sevendust continue in the tradition of their previous releases with “Kill the Flaw”. The album which will be the group’s third release in the corresponding number of years is spattered with the band signature sound which has been pounding eardrums since the late 90’s. While the album features familiar tones and textures it embellishes on those taking the listener and the band to new levels. Tracks like the albums opener/lead single “Thank You” which perfectly sets the stage for the subsequent track’s it blends the bands melodic yet raw style they are known for while songs like “Letters” with its catchy rhythmic choruses and the acoustic guitar tinged “Chop” both seem destine to be staples in the bands always impressive live show.

“Kill the Flaw” doesn’t reinvent the wheel but instead it capitalizes on the strengths Sevendust are known for. Lead vocalist Lajon Witherspoon sounds stronger than ever as does the rest of the band consisting of Clint Lowery, Morgan Rose, Vince Hornsby and John Connolly. Together on “Kill the Flaw” the band proves that even after 20+ years in the music business you can still remain fresh and consistently put out solid records year after year. The album will be available Oct. 2nd via Asylum/7Bros. Records and is currently available for pre-order through the bands website

Track Listing:
1.) Thank You
2.) Death Dance
3.) Forget
4.) Letters
5.) Cease and Desist
6.) Not Today
7.) Chop
8.) Kill the Flaw
9.) Silly Beast
10.) Peace and Destruction
11.) Torched

CD Review: Sevendust “Black Out The Sun”

“Black Out The Sun”
7Bros Records
Producer: Morgan Rose, Clint Lowery
Tracks: 13

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sevendust are back with a brand new full length album titled “Black Out The Sun”. This is the bands 9th studio album and the follow up to the bands 2010 release “Cold Day Memory” which debuted at #12 on Billboard’s Top 200 chart. “Black Out The Sun” was produced by Morgan Rose and Clint Lowery and is also being released via their own label 7Bros Records. A much darker sounding and heavier hitting album than we have heard from Sevendust in the past.

From the word go “Black Out The Sun” repeatedly puts your senses through a meat grinder. Songs such as “Cold As War” and “Dead Roses” feature Lajon Witherspoon’s signature melodic meets gruff vocal style backed by the always impressive instrumental section of Morgan Rose, Clint Lowery, Vince Hornsby and John Connolly. While songs like “Till Death” and the album’s first single “Decay” kick things up a notch before being slowed down by the soulful acoustic/electric number “Got a Feeling”.

“Black Out the Sun” does a great job covering a lot of musical ground while still staying true to the sound that made the band what they are today. The album features straight forward production and mixes which sonically make for a good listen. Both new found fans and long time Sevendust listeners will want to bring home a copy of “Black Out The Sun”.

Track Listing:
1.) Memory
2.) Faithless
3.) Till Death
4.) Mountain
5.) Cold as War
6.) Black Out the Sun
7.) Nobody Wants It
8.) Dead Roses
9.) Decay
10.) Dark AM
11.) Picture Perfect
12.) Got a Feeling
13.) Murder Bar


Related Content