CD Review: Oleander “Something Beautiful”

“Something Beautiful”
Carved Records
Tracks: 11

Our Score: 5 out of 5 stars

The mid 90’s post-grunge group Oleander is back with their first new album in 10 years. “Something Beautiful” features 11 new tracks by the band that first burst on to the scene with the hit single “Why I’m Here” off the album titled “February Son”. “Something Beautiful” is the first release from the band since signing to Carved Records and is the follow up release to the album “Joy Ride” which was released in 2003.

When a band steps out of the public eye for an extended amount of time it can often be hard to pull things back together and reemerge as the act they once were. In the case of Oleander they not only still sound great but they sound even better! Each of the 11 tracks on “Something Beautiful” seems to be on the verge of being a hit. Vocalist Thomas Flowers, bassist Doug Eldridge, rhythm guitarist Ric Ivanisevich, drummer Steve Brown and lead guitarist Rich Mouser are all certainly at the top of their game on this recording. With catchy radio friendly songs like “Something Beautiful” and “Until It’s Over” to edgier songs such as “Bulletproof” and “Never Too Late” the band does a great job including a little something for everyone.

Some bands find long periods time off between albums detrimental to their careers however Oleander seem to be like a fine wine that only gets better with age. “Something Beautiful” is not only accessible to first time listeners but will take long time Oleander fans back to their teens when they first discovered the band.

Track Listing:
1.) Fight
2.) Something Beautiful
3.) Bulletproof
4.) Until It’s Over
5.) Never Too Late
6.) Save The Best
7.) Save Me
8.) You Are the One
9.) Daylight
10.) Second Best Wishes
11.) Where Do We Go From Here
12.) How Do We Say Goodbye

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *