CD Review: Sevendust “Black Out The Sun”

“Black Out The Sun”
7Bros Records
Producer: Morgan Rose, Clint Lowery
Tracks: 13

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sevendust are back with a brand new full length album titled “Black Out The Sun”. This is the bands 9th studio album and the follow up to the bands 2010 release “Cold Day Memory” which debuted at #12 on Billboard’s Top 200 chart. “Black Out The Sun” was produced by Morgan Rose and Clint Lowery and is also being released via their own label 7Bros Records. A much darker sounding and heavier hitting album than we have heard from Sevendust in the past.

From the word go “Black Out The Sun” repeatedly puts your senses through a meat grinder. Songs such as “Cold As War” and “Dead Roses” feature Lajon Witherspoon’s signature melodic meets gruff vocal style backed by the always impressive instrumental section of Morgan Rose, Clint Lowery, Vince Hornsby and John Connolly. While songs like “Till Death” and the album’s first single “Decay” kick things up a notch before being slowed down by the soulful acoustic/electric number “Got a Feeling”.

“Black Out the Sun” does a great job covering a lot of musical ground while still staying true to the sound that made the band what they are today. The album features straight forward production and mixes which sonically make for a good listen. Both new found fans and long time Sevendust listeners will want to bring home a copy of “Black Out The Sun”.

Track Listing:
1.) Memory
2.) Faithless
3.) Till Death
4.) Mountain
5.) Cold as War
6.) Black Out the Sun
7.) Nobody Wants It
8.) Dead Roses
9.) Decay
10.) Dark AM
11.) Picture Perfect
12.) Got a Feeling
13.) Murder Bar


Related Content

Share this article

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *