DVD Review “Steel Panther: British Invasion”

Directed by: Daniel E Catullo III
Starring: Steel Panther
Guitar Anarchy Studios
Mixing: Jay Ruston
Rated: N/A
Concert Feature: 90 min
Special Features: 60 min

Our Score: Concert- 4 out of 5 stars
Special Features- 5 out of 5 stars

“British Invasion” is the long awaited DVD/Blu-Ray release from the spandex clad band Steel Panther. Release dates for this film go back as far as March of 2010 however the wait is finally over. There are two versions of the film being released in the U.S. on Oct. 22nd with the first being a 2 disc DVD version that will have the concert and special features on two separate discs along with a 16 page color booklet. The Blu-Ray release of the film will feature all of the same material and packaging but contained on a single disc. Shot on location in London, England at the famous Brixton Academy director Daniel E Catullo III (Nickelback, Rush, Godsmack) does a great job capturing all the hairspray filed hijinx as the concert was shot on 16 HD cameras which give the film a really stunning look.

I have been waiting patiently since the first announcements of this DVD were released over 2 years ago so when I finally received the Blu-Ray version of the film for review I couldn’t wait to see what was in store. Satchel, Michael, Lexxi and Stix deliver with every song and cheesy choreographed dance move as they make their way through the 90+ minute set shot during one of their sold out shows at London’s Brixton Academy. Lots of jokes and scantily clad women fill in the empty spaces making this a hysterical watching experience. At times the music does seems a bit too crisp and clean for a live recording however it’s not enough where it distracted my attention. The only other negative I could really find was that because of the film being shot during the highly successful “Feel the Steel” tour the set does not include any songs from the group’s latest release “Balls Out”. However the band does a good job making up for that during the bonus features.

The Special Features portion of the disc was chocked to the brim with over 60 minutes of bonus material. The first is a hysterical 40 minute documentary which takes you behind the scenes of the band known as Steel Panther. Next is a video of the bands performance from this year’s Download Festival which not only features performances of “Just Like Tiger Woods” and “17 Girls in a Row” both off of the “Balls Out” album but a very special guest vocal performance by Corey Taylor of Slipknot on the bands song “Death to All But Metal”. Closing out this portion of the disc are several deleted scenes that even though were obviously staged still managed to garner a number of laughs.

Great laughs and great music is what you find on Steel Panther’s “British Invasion”. So do yourself a favor. Pick up a copy of this film, tuck the little ones away for the night and get prepared to ROCK!!!

Main DVD:
1.) Eyes of a Panther
2.) Eatin’ Ain’t Cheatin’
3.) Fat Girl
4.) Hair Solo
5.) Party All Day
6.) Hell’s on Fire
7.) Stripper Girl
8.) Asian Hooker
9.) Turn Out the Lights
10.) Girl From Oklahoma
11.) We Want Pussy
12.) Community Property
13.) The Shocker
14.) Death to All But Metal

Bonus Disc:
40 Min. Documentary
Deleted Scenes

Download Festival 2012:
1.) Supersonic Sex Machine
2.) Community Property
3.) Just Like Tiger Woods
4.) 17 Girls in a Row
5.) Death to All But Metal (Feat. Corey Taylor)

CD Review: Steel Panther “Balls Out”

Steel Panther
“Balls Out”
Universal Republic
Producer: Jay Ruston
Tracks: 14

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Balls Out” is the second release by the Los Angeles based band Steel Panther. “Balls Out” features 14 all new tracks by the spandex clad band that were produced by Jay Ruston. The album is being released via Universal Republic and is the follow up to Steel Panthers 2009 release “Feel The Steel”.

“Balls Out” seems to lack the catchiness of the bands first release “Feel The Steel”. It’s as though the band went more for a shock approach with their lyrics rather than concentrating on making a good album as a whole. “Balls Out” is still good and packed full classic 80’s inspired riffs that will make you want to tease your hair to epic proportions. Tracks like “Tomorrow Night” and “Critter” were the highlights for me while tracks like “It Won’t Suck Itself” featuring Chad Kroeger of Nickelback and the album’s first single “17 Girls In A Row” are definitely worth mentioning.

Though “Balls Out” doesn’t measure up to the bands previous release its still a fun and upbeat album that you can sing along to. Steel Panther fans new and old should be able to find something of “Balls Out” that they will enjoy.

Track Listing:
•    In The Future
•    Supersonic Sex Machine
•    Just Like Tiger Woods
•    17 Girls In A Row
•    If You Really Really Love Me
•    It Won’t Suck Itself
•    Tomorrow Night
•    Why Can’t You Trust me
•    That’s What Girls Are For
•     Gold Digging Whore
•     I Like Drugs
•     Critter
•     Let Me Cum In
•     Weenie Ride