Concert Review: Ace Frehley

ace2“Ace Frehley Tour 2016”

Ace Frehley, Simo
Saturday, September 24th 2016
Magic City Music Hall, Binghamton, NY

Our Score: 4 out of 5 Stars

The original Space Man himself Ace Frehley landed in Binghamton, NY on September 24th to perform at the Magic City Music Hall. The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer is out in support of his most recent studio release titled “Origins Vol. 1” a collection of covers handpicked by Ace himself. Though Ace had not performed in the Binghamton area since 2000 the Broome County fans certainly hadn’t forget about the man from Jendel.

Starting of the night were the blues tinged jam band Simo. Hailing from Nashville, TN the group performed a writhing 35 minute set which helped get the night underway. Front man JD Simo didn’t waste much time interacting with the crowd as he and his band mates let the music do the talking. The power trio all seemed quite well versed in their instrumentation as each song the band performed featured lengthy solo areas that each member filled in with ease. The band closed out the set with an ace1energetic rendition of Joe Cockers “A Little Help From My Friends” which easily garnered the largest applause from the assembled crowd. After a momentary set change Ace Frehley and his band would hit the stage as echoes of Ace’s song “Fractured Mirror” played over the PA system. The band kicked off the night with “Rip It Out” from Frehley’s 1978 solo album setting the tone for the night’s adventure. The set touched on almost all of Ace’s solo works as wells as some of the material he wrote during his days with Kiss including “Parasite”, “Rocket Ride” and “Strange Ways” which features bassist Chris Wyse on vocals. Another highlight of the nights was “2 Young 2 Die” from Ace’s “Trouble Walkin’” album featuring guitarist Richie Scarlett on vocals.

Despite a few out of key moments and a couple tempo issues the band still put on a solid performance which the audience in Binghamton seemed to really enjoy. With the chances of Ace returning to Kiss growing slimmer and slimmer with each passing day the 65 year guitarist is showing no signs of slowing down anytime soon as a solo artist, Nor should he as he is still able to get up on stage and put on an entertaining show night after night. There are still just a few more chances to catch Ace this year so if he is coming to your town or one nearby I highly recommend you get yourself a ticket as soon as possible.

Ace Frehley Set List:
(Fractured Mirror Intro)
1.) Rip It Out
2.) Toys
3.) Emerald (Thin Lizzy Cover)
4.) Parasite
5.) Love Gun
6.) Snowblind
7.) Sister
8.) Rocket Ride
9.) Bring It On Home (Willie Dixon Cover)
10.) Rock Soldiers
-Bass Solo-
11.) Strange Ways
12.) New York Groove
13.) 2 Young 2 Die
14.) Shock Me
-Guitar Solo-
15.) Cold Gin
16.) Detroit Rock City
17.) Deuce

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *