CD Review: Buckcherry "Confessions"

Century Media
Producer: Buckcherry
Tracks: 13

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

Ladies and gentlemen of the Sunset Strip rejoice as Buckcherry are back with a brand new studio album titled “Confessions”. The first release from the band since joining Century Media records “Confessions” features 13 new tracks produced by the band. This is the bands 6th studio album and is the follow release to the bands 2010 album “All Night Long”.

Josh Todd and the boys open up the new album with the in your face rocker “Gluttony”. The song is definitely one of the harder tracks off “Confessions” however it seems that some of the grit and edginess that put the band in the spotlight is missing. The album is a mixture of musical styling’s that range from radio friendly rock tracks like “The Truth” to songs like “Dreamin’ of You” which features tremolo filled choruses that sound boarder line country. Every so often you can catch glimpses of the bands hard rock roots most notably on tracks like “Water” and “Seven Ways to Die”. “Confessions” is a big step for Buckcherry however I am not sure if it is in the right direction. You can clearly tell the band is either looking to widen their fan base or they have grown out of the sex, drugs and rock and roll scene and want a more mature look and sound. Progression and change can be good as long as it doesn’t alienate your core fans at the same time and sadly I have a feeling “Confessions” may leave a few people disappointed.

Track Listing:
1.) Gluttony
2.) Wrath
3.) Nothing Left But Tears
4.) The Truth
5.) Greed
6.) Water
7.) Seven Ways to Die
8.) Air
9.) Sloth
10.) Pride
11.) Envy
12.) Lust
13.) Dreamin’ of You


Related Content

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *