Taylor Hawkins & The Coattail Riders “Get The Money” Set For Nov. 8 Release


On November 8, Taylor Hawkins will descend from the levitating drum throne on which he’s spent two years on tour supporting Foo Fighters’ international #1 album Concrete and Gold. The forthcoming third Taylor Hawkins and the Coattail Riders album, Get The Money, will be released by Shanabelle/RCA Records on that date, and can be pre-ordered now with all pre-orders receiving the instant grat track “Crossed The Line” (featuring guest turns from Hawkins’ bandmate Dave Grohl and Yes vocalist Jon Davison).

Pre-Order Get The Moneyhere. Listen to “Crossed The Line” here. Exclusive Merch bundles are also be available here.

Produced by John Lousteau and Taylor himself, and mixed by Sylvia Massy, Get The Money follows Taylor’s 2016 six-song mini-LP KOTA by three years almost to the day, and features a scope far wider than KOTA’s takes on suburbia’s bizarro underbelly. The new album finds Taylor and Coattail Riders Chris Chaney, Brent Woods and John Lousteau accompanied by an all-star supporting cast including Taylor’s fellow Foo Fighters Dave Grohl and Pat Smear, Roger Taylor, Joe Walsh, Duff McKagan, Nancy Wilson, Chrissie Hynde, Perry Farrell, LeAnn Rimes and more, collectively creating a staggering, epic sprawl that swerves from classic rock to prog and glam and all points between.

The track listing for Get The Money is:

  1. Crossed the Line (featuring Dave Grohl, Jon Davison)
  2. Don’t Look At Me That Way (featuring Duff McKagan, Nancy Wilson)
  3. You’re No Good at Life No More (featuring Dave Grohl)
  4. I Really Blew It (featuring Dave Grohl, Perry Farrell)
  5. Queen Of The Clowns  (featuring Mark King)
  6. Get the Money (featuring Joe Walsh, Chrissie Hynde, Duff McKagan)
  7. C U in Hell (featuring LeAnn Rimes)
  8. Middle Child (featuring Dave Grohl)
  9. Kiss the Ring
  10. Shapes Of Things (featuring Roger Taylor, Pat Smear)

Since the Texas-born Laguna-bred force of nature made his Foo Fighting debut on the tour supporting 1997’s sophomore opus The Colour and the Shape, he has been an essential element of the sound and personality of the last great American arena/stadium rock band.  He’s played on Grammy-winning FF albums including “There Is Nothing Left To Lose” , “One by One” and “Wasting Light”, and contributed lead vocals to Concrete and Gold’s “Sunday Rain,” as well as “Cold Day In The Sun” from 2005’s In Your Honor.

Taylor’s previous extracurricular output includes two albums from Taylor Hawkins and the Coattail Riders, one with The Birds of Satan, the above-mentioned KOTA mini-LP that featured Hawkins on lead vocals and nearly every instrument.

DVD Review “Hawkins: The Complete TV-Movie Collection”

Created by: Robert Hamner, David Karp
Starring: James Stewart
Distributed: Warner Archive
Rating: Not Rated
Running Time: 588 minutes

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

When I think about Christmas, I can’t help it but think about Jimmy Stewart in “It’s a Wonderful Life”. With the holidays just around the corner, I am excited to get a chance to check out a maybe lesser-known collection of work from Mr. Stewart. I think I can listen to his voice for hours, especially later in his career. There is nothing like it. Jimmy Stewart is perfectly cast as the slow-drawling Southern lawyer Billy Jim Hawkin. This mystery TV series aired for one season on CBS from 1973 and 1974 and was created by Robert Hamner and David Karp. Even though it was cancelled after one season Jimmy Stewart ended up winning a Golden Globe Award for Best Actor in Television Drama Series. If you are a fan of his work, this is a must purchase!

This 4-disc set consists of an eight film collection including “Death and the Maiden”, “Murder in Movieland”, “Die, Darling, Die”, “A Life For a Life”, “Blood Feud”, “Murder and the Slave Trade”, “Murder on the 13th Floor” and “Candidate for Murder”. There is something special about watching these classic TV movie adaptions.  “Hawkins” used to air during The New CBS Tuesday Night Movies back in the day. I think if they gave this show a bit of a chance it could have been the a very long running and successful series. He reminds me a pre-dated “Monk”. Each film stands alone and delivers some classic murder mystery. This is the first time that this has ever been released on DVD, thanks to Warner Archive. This release is presented in 4X3 full frame with the its original aspect ratio of 1.37:1. The audio track is the original mono audio, which works perfectly within the legalese dialogue.

Official Synopsis: A decade before TV saw another silver-haired, slow-drawling Southern shyster with a knack for sleuthing out the truth, M-G-M welcomed back two titanic talents, TV producer Norman Felton and screen legend Jimmy Stewart, for Hawkins. Stewart played Billy Jim Hawkins in rotation with the Shaft TV movies (Talk about Country Mouse and City Mouse!), solving crimes alongside his cousin RJ (Strother Martin) and a bevy of sensational costars. Bonnie Bedelia plays a troubled young woman accused of familicide, Cameron Mitchell plays a tinseltown spouse facing murder charges, Julie Harris plays an accused mercy killer, William Windom plays a parent with a vendetta, Lew Ayres and James Best play folk caught up in a deadly Civil War re-enactment, James Luisi plays a football pro caught up in foul play, Teresa Wright plays an ex-amour of Bill Jim’s, and Paul Burke and Pernell Roberts play a senator and aide caught up in a slaying.

CD Review: Sophie B. Hawkins “The Crossing”

Sophie B. Hawkins
“The Crossing”
Release Date: June 19, 2012
Label: Lightyear
Tracks: 17
Running Time: 67 minutes

Our Score: 1 out of 5 stars

Whew, this CD was hard to get through just one. I don’t know how they let this one be released. I am definitely a fan of Sophie B. Hawkins’ earlier work. I mean who doesn’t like “Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover” or “As I Lay Me Down”. But I was cringing at her voice in these songs. The album feels like a 90’s pop star that is trying to stay in the 90’s…oh wait a sec it’s exactly what this is. Stay away for this if you don’t want to shatter your memory of Sophie B. Hawkins.

“The Crossing”, the latest studio album from legendary singer/songwriter really takes her far from her past success. If I was her I would have liked to be remembered the way I was. The only real draw of the album for me was the acoustic version of her classic songs but Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover” or “As I Lay Me Down”, though the vocals are still painful. But if I had to comment on the new songs, I guess “Betchya Got a Cure for Me” was ok and “Missing” was also ok but definitely not the acoustic version…Yikes.

Track Listing:
1 Betchya Got a Cure For Me
2 Sinner Man
3 Land The Sea And The Sky
4 Georgia
5 Missing
6 Heart & Soul Of A Woman
7 Life Is a River
8 Miles Away
9 I Don’t Need You
10 Gone Baby
11 Child
12 Dream St
13 Red Bird
14 Betchya Got A Cure For Me (Long)
15 Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover (Acoustic)
16 Missing (Demo)
17 As I Lay Me Down (Acoustic)