CD Review: Sophie B. Hawkins “The Crossing”

Sophie B. Hawkins
“The Crossing”
Release Date: June 19, 2012
Label: Lightyear
Tracks: 17
Running Time: 67 minutes

Our Score: 1 out of 5 stars

Whew, this CD was hard to get through just one. I don’t know how they let this one be released. I am definitely a fan of Sophie B. Hawkins’ earlier work. I mean who doesn’t like “Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover” or “As I Lay Me Down”. But I was cringing at her voice in these songs. The album feels like a 90’s pop star that is trying to stay in the 90’s…oh wait a sec it’s exactly what this is. Stay away for this if you don’t want to shatter your memory of Sophie B. Hawkins.

“The Crossing”, the latest studio album from legendary singer/songwriter really takes her far from her past success. If I was her I would have liked to be remembered the way I was. The only real draw of the album for me was the acoustic version of her classic songs but Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover” or “As I Lay Me Down”, though the vocals are still painful. But if I had to comment on the new songs, I guess “Betchya Got a Cure for Me” was ok and “Missing” was also ok but definitely not the acoustic version…Yikes.

Track Listing:
1 Betchya Got a Cure For Me
2 Sinner Man
3 Land The Sea And The Sky
4 Georgia
5 Missing
6 Heart & Soul Of A Woman
7 Life Is a River
8 Miles Away
9 I Don’t Need You
10 Gone Baby
11 Child
12 Dream St
13 Red Bird
14 Betchya Got A Cure For Me (Long)
15 Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover (Acoustic)
16 Missing (Demo)
17 As I Lay Me Down (Acoustic)