CD Review: Foreigner “Alive & Rockin'”

Alive & Rockin’
Eagle Rock Entertainment
Release Date: May 29, 2012
Tracks: 9

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

I would like to consider myself a huge Foreigner fan. I recently saw them perform this past Spring and SeaWorld Orlando and they put on a hell of a live show.
This album was recorded at the 2006 Bang Your Head Festival in Balingen, Germany. This 9-track concert was released previously on DVD but never as an audio CD. I feel that it is definitely missing the energy of the live show. The instruments seems a little bit toned down or muted during the songs. I still have a few original Foreigner albums on my iPhone and I re-listened to those track (of course a different singer), they just sound so much more energetic.

The line up for the concert includes Mick Jones (guitars), Kelly Hansen (vocals), Jason Bonham (drums), Jeff Jacobs (keyboards), Tom Gimbel (guitars, saxophone, flute) and Jeff Pilson (bass). Let me tell you after seeing Kelly Hansen perform live this year, I totally love this voice and he is able to belt out these songs well. This release though didn’t really show that wonderful aspect.

The set list, of course includes the classic crowd-pleasing tracks including U.S. Top 20 hits like “Juke Box Hero”, “Cold As Ice” and “Hot Blooded.” There is even a little tribute to Zeppelin with “Whole Lotta Love”. I have never been a mega big fan of “Starrider and I feel it slows down the album a bit as well. Overall if you are a fan of Foreigner, I would honestly say skip this album, re-listen to your classic vinyls or CD’s and catch these guys live.

Track Listing:
1) Double Vision
2) Head Games
3) Dirty White Boy
4) Cold As Ice
5) Starrider
6) Feels Like The First Time
7) Urgent
8) Juke Box Hero / Whole Lotta Love
9) Hot Blooded


Related Content

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *