CD Review: Nils Lofgren “Old School”

Nils Lofgren
“Old School”
Vision Music Inc.
Produced by: Nils Lofgren, Brian Christian
Tracks: 12

Our Score: 2 out of 5 stars

“Old School” is the newest solo release from Neil Young/E Street Band guitarist Nils Lofgren. The album is the being released via Vision Music Inc. and features 12 new original songs produced by Nils Lofgren and Brian Christian.  As the follow up to Lofgren’s 2008 solo album titled “The Loner”, “Old School” seems to have a little bit of something for everyone. Though I found the album to be a touch different from his work with Bruce Springsteen this proved not to be a bad thing.

The album features a variety of styles such as rock; blues and country which I feel only broaden the overall appeal of this album. Each song showcased not only Lofgren’s guitar playing but also his singing. Tracks like “60 Is the New 18” and “Ain’t Too Many of Us Left” were definite standouts as they were more along the lines of Nils more familiar works. Those looking for a Springsteen album minus the Springsteen will not find it here. Lofgren shines with his own unique style and “Old School” is a perfect example of that style.

Track Listing:
1.)    Old School
2.)    60 Is the New 18
3.)    Miss You Ray
4.)    Love Stumbles On
5.)    Amy Joan Blues
6.)    Irish Angel
7.)    Ain’t Too Many of Us Left
8.)    When You Were Mine
9.)    Just Because You Love Me
10.)  Dream Big
11.)  Let Her Get Away
12.)  Why Me

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *