Film Review: “Avengers: Endgame”

Starring: Robert Downey, Jr, Chris Evans and Chris Hemsworth
Directed by: Anthony and Joe Russo
Rated: PG 13
Running time: 3 hrs 1 min

I think it’s ironic that the 22nd film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is opening the same week that the 25th James Bond film is announced.  James Bond first hit the screen in 1962 with “Dr, No.”  The MCU began in 2008 with “Iron Man,”  And while some of the Bond films have been hit or miss (I’m looking at YOU, “A View to a Kill”), I don’t think I’ve ever given an MCU movie a rating less than four stars.  Sadly, our rating system only goes up to five, because otherwise I’d give “Avengers: Endgame” six!


“Endgame” picks up where “Avengers: Infinity War” ended…with half of the world’s population vanishing in a literal puff of smoke after the evil Thanos (a superb Josh Brolin) has donned his gauntlet, studded with the Infinity Stones, and snapped his fingers.  Unfortunately half of the people eliminated included some popular figures from the MCU, including Black Panther and Spider-man.  Those that have survived mourn their lost colleagues, with Tony Stark (Downey Jr, the backbone of this franchise) taking the loss of Peter Parker badly (I will say that, of all the characters that were lost in “Infinity War,” the loss of Parker hit me he hardest – Tom Holland has really inhabited the character).  The remaining Avengers gather and try to figure out how to return their world to the way they knew it.

I really can’t share any of my favorite moments for fear of giving away a plot point.  I will say this; you will laugh.  And you will cry.  And you will go through every emotion in the middle.  For the last eleven years we have met, and grown with, these characters.  We are as protective of them as we know they would be of us.  And the final chapter of this saga is one for the ages!

CD Review: Rise Against “EndGame”

Rise Against
Producer: Bill Stevenson, Jason Livermore
Tracks: 12

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

“Endgame” is the 7th studio album from the punk rock band Rise Against. The album is the follow up release to the bands successful “Appeal to Reason” album. Produced by Bill Stevenson and Jason Livermore and released via DGC/Interscope “Endgame” features 12 high energy songs chocked full of great instrumentation and lyrical references to recent events around the world.

The latest album by Rise Against features everything fans of the band have come to know and love. From Catchy sing-along choruses to thought provoking lyrics front man Tim McIIrath takes the listener on a rollercoaster ride of emotions. “EndGame” seemed to have a much more polished approach compared to the bands previous release and even though it doesn’t seem to cover as much territory musically the group’s sheer intensity and in your face approach really grabs you. Songs such as “Help is on its Way” and “Disparity by Design” were instant favorites that I’m sure will garner some really great live performances. Crunchy guitars and catchy choruses consume almost all 12 tracks on the album making any one of the songs capable of becoming a hit.

Straight forward and thought provoking “EndGame” is everything you could want from a punk rock album and more! The band appears to be at the top of their game and is showing no sign of slowing down anytime soon. If you haven’t done so already get to the store or your computer and add this album to your collection. Also be sure to check out the band on their current 2012 spring tour which will also feature special guests A Day to Remember.

Track Listing:
1.)    Architects
2.)    Help is on the Way
3.)    Make it Stop (September’s Children)
4.)    Disparity by Design
5.)    Satellite
6.)    Midnight Hands
7.)    Survivor Guilt
8.)    Broken Mirrors
9.)    Wait for Me
10.)  A Gentleman’s Coup
11.)  This is Letting Go
12.)  Endgame