CD/DVD Review: Motorhead “Clean Your Clock”

motorhead-clean-your-clock[1]“Clean Your Clock”
UDR Music
Not Rated

Our Score:  CD: 3 out of 5 stars    

                    DVD: 3.5 out of 5 stars 

“Clean Your Clock” is the latest live release from the heavy metal band Motorhead. The release captures the bands November 20/21, 2015 shows at the Zenith in Munich Germany and is the bands very last live recorded show. The release captures the natural sound of one of heavy metals most astounding bands and serves as a solid send off to the one and only Lemmy.

Having followed Motorhead’s last tour pretty closely due to the almost daily updates of front-man Lemmy Kilmister’s diminishing health I was a bit skeptical of a release that was going to showcase a show from this run. Would a sickly looking Lemmy be the way I wanted to remember the band? Most definitely not. Having experienced the band live on a couple different occasions and knowing the amount of energy the band exuded during their performances I initially wasn’t expecting a lot out of this release. Thankfully within minutes of putting the DVD portion of the CD/DVD combo in my player I could tell the performance was going to be top notch. The lighting elements of the show look great and include a moving plane which hovers at varying heights through out the performance adding uniqueness to the rather straight forward staging. I’m not going to say Lemmy looks or sound amazing in this because he does not however, for a 70 year old man dealing with what he was dealing with at the time he sounds damn good! Classic tracks like “Bomber”, “The Chase Is Better Than The Catch” and “Ace of Spades” rip through your speakers with reckless abandonment and showcases Lemmy’s signature attitude and sound while fellow band mates Mikkey Dee and Phil Campbell hold down their ends and in my opinion really carry the band throughout the performance. Both the DVD and CD portions of the release sounded nearly identical however the CD seemed to have a little bit more treble present in the mix. This did add some clarity to the tracks but at times the added frequencies were a bit too bright for my liking.

If you’re a devout Motorhead fan then you already know that “Clean Your Clock” is a must have. The release is available in a variety of formats including Blu-Ray, CD/Blu-Ray, CD/DVD and Vinyl however; you will want to check your video player setting as this is a European release which due to its encoding can play havoc with some players. Bottom line “Clean Your Clock” is a sleek, good sounding release that fans of the band will appreciate but, if your newer to the band or are a more casual listener you may want to skip over this one and check out one of the bands older live or studio releases.

Track Listing:

1.) Bomber
2.) Stay Clean
3.) Metropolis
4.) When The Sky Comes Looking For You
5.) Over The Top
6.) Guitar Solo
7.) The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
8.) Lost Woman Blues
9.) Rock It
10.) Orgasmatron
11.) Dr. Rock
12.) Just ‘Cus You Got The Power
13.) No Class
14.) Ace Of Spades
15.) Whorehouse Blues
16.) Overkill


Related Content

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *