CD Review: Michael Bublé “To Be Loved”

bubletobelovedMichael Bublé
“To Be Loved”
Produced by: Bob Rock
Release Date: April 23, 2013
Label: Reprise Records
Tracks: 14
Running Time: 44 minutes

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

Michael Bublé is a singer with a voice that just mesmerizes you with each word. There are very few singers around right now that have the class and presence that he has. His voice with big band behind him is a thing of beauty. This type of music is very rare in the age of “fixing it in the studio” crap that we are getting today. Michael’s voice on the album is what it sounds like it he was sitting right in your living room next to you. “To Be Loved” is his sixth official studio album and features 4 original songs, which are co-written by Bublé himself and 10 covers, which are new interpretation of classic songs. I am in love with this album and I foresee this being on my iPhone for many years to come (or at least until the next album).

The originals tracks are “After All” with Bryan Adams, “Got It Easy”, “Close Your Eyes” and “It’s A Beautiful Day”. All four tracks are absolutely amazing. I have to admit It’s A Beautiful Day” has this certain charm that gets me everytime. The classic covers are the Bee Gees’ “To Love Somebody”, Dean Martin’s “Nevertheless (I’m In Love With You)” with The Puppini Sisters, The Miracles’ “Who’s Lovin’ You”, Jackie Wilson’s “To Be Loved”, Elvis Presley’s “Have I Told You Lately”, Randy Newman’s “You’ve Got A Friend In Me” from “Toy Story” and of course what is a Bublé album without some Frank Sinatra songs including “Young At Heart”, “You Make Me Feel So Young”, “Come Dance With Me and “Something Stupid”, which features Reese Witherspoon on vocals taking over for Nancy Sinatra.

What I love about this album most is that you are easily able to just get lost in the music. From the moment the album starts you find yourself immediately singing along and you don’t stop until ends. Even with the new tracks, they are so catchy and after a listen or track you will find that you already know them and can’t get them out of your head. If you are a fan of Bublé, you will not be disappointed at all. If you are new to his music, this would be an excellent way to get introduced. Now if we can only get Bublé can get his butt to Orlando, FL to tour, I will be a very happy camper!

Track Listing:
1. You Make Me Feel So Young
2. It’s A Beautiful Day
3. To Love Somebody
4. Who’s Lovin’ You
5. Something Stupid (feat. Reese Witherspoon)
6. Come Dance With Me
7. Close Your Eyes
8. After All (feat. Bryan Adams)
9. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You (with Naturally 7)
10. To Be Loved
11. You’ve Got A Friend In Me
12. Nevertheless (I’m In Love With You) [feat. The Puppini Sisters]
13. I Got It Easy
14. Young At Heart


Related Content

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *