Judas Priest Release First Single “Lightning Strike” From Upcoming Album “Firepower”


Judas Priest could easily rest on their laurels at this stage of their highly successful and influential career. However, the legendary metal band – singer Rob Halford, guitarists Glenn Tipton and Richie Faulkner, bassist Ian Hill, and drummer Scott Travis – refuse to do so as evidenced by the arrival of their eighteenth studio album overall – ‘Firepower,’ which can be pre-ordered via the link http://smarturl.it/Firepower.

Set for release on Friday, March 9th, 2018 via Epic Records – the album is comprised of fourteen tracks of pure and highly inspired metal. And to mark the occasion Priest has reunited with producer Tom Allom (the man behind the board for all of the band’s releases from 1979-1988, including such stellar classics as ‘Unleashed in the East,’ ‘British Steel,’ ‘Screaming for Vengeance’ and ‘Defenders of the Faith’) and with Grammy Award-winning producer Andy Sneap also helping to raise the sonic bar even higher.

“Tom Allom has got this classic metal thing,” explains Halford. “And Andy is a bit more of a ‘modern metal producer’ but his thinking is a little bit different to Tom’s. And I think to get this balance between that classic old school metal to what Andy’s world is was just a remarkable coalescence.” “Tom Allom has been with us since 1979, so his knowledge of ourselves and our music in general is immense,” adds Hill. And according to Travis Priest returned back to a recording method that worked incredibly well on the band’s earlier classics – “We went back to the organic way of recording where it’s all of us in a room and we got to play together.”

The album’s first single, ‘Lightning Strike’ will be available worldwide on Friday, January 5, 2018, and on the same day the song’s music video will be premiered (and can be viewed via http://smarturl.it/JPLightningStrikeVid). Full album pre-order and a PledgeMusic pre-order (https://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/judas-priest) will also begin the same day which includes exclusive limited autographed colored vinyl, autographed vinyl test pressings, an exclusive Judas Priest t-shirt and an extremely limited number of Judas Priest autographed guitars.

With the impending arrival of ‘Firepower’ and its ensuing tour (which kicks off on March 13th), THE PRIEST IS BACK!


1. Firepower
2. Lightning Strike
3. Evil Never Dies
4. Never The Heroes
5. Necromancer
6. Children of the Sun
7. Guardians
8. Rising From Ruins
9. Flame Thrower
10. Spectre
11. Traitors Gate
12. No Surrender
13. Lone Wolf
14. Sea of Red


Book Review “Jerry Bruckheimer: When Lightning Strikes – Four Decades of Filmmaking”

Author: Michael Singer
Foreword: Johnny Depp
Series: Disney Editions Deluxe (Film)
Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Disney Editions
Release date: December 17, 2013

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

When you think about Jerry Bruckheimer, you think BIG and then BIGGER! If you do they this book shouldn’t be surprising since it is HUGE. Love him or hate him, Bruckheimer has quite the resume and a very long list of box office blockbusters under his name. Here are a few of them including “Top Gun”, “Days of Thunder”, “Beverly Hills Cop”, “Bad Boys”, “Crimson Tide”, “The Rock” …(deep breath)…”Con Air”, “Armageddon”, “Gone in Sixty Seconds”, “Pearl Harbor”, “Black Hawk Down”, “Pirates of the Caribbean” series and “National Treasure” series. Besides films, he also has his hand in TV with the following series including “CSI” franchise, “The Amazing Race”, “Cold Case”, and “Without a Trace”. So if you are a fan of Bruckheimer, then I cannot recommend this book enough since it is really the ultimate ode to an amazing filmmaker…just make sure you have enough room on your bookshelf.

“Jerry Bruckheimer: When Lightning Strikes – Four Decades of Filmmaking” really gives deep to his start in the early 70’s with “The Culpepper Cattle Co.” all the way to the most recent “The Lone Ranger” from last summer. There are some very great behind-the-scenes information provided for these projects. The author, Michael Singer, is a writer and production unit publicist that has been in the business for over 35 years. He has worked beside Bruckheimer on his films whether it was in the deserts, on a tropical islands and many other filming locations. So Singer really is the best person for the job and to have an great insight into Bruckheimer’s body of work. Also previous books he has released include “The Art of Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides”.

Besides the writing, let’s get to the real good stuff, which would be the images. They are extremely high quality images from these films. In case you forgot that I said this book was HUGE, so expect that these images have big pages to fill. My only concern with this book was due to its size, the biding seems a little wobbly and weak. I think they should have make the structure a little more hardcover and this would have been perfect. Also included is a great foreword from Johnny Depp, who worked with Bruckheimer on numerous projects over the year. There is an exclusive interview with Bruckheimer’s wife, Linda. There is also (and this made me laugh) an introduction from Bruckheimer himself. I loved the fact that he gave his own intro. Jerry Bruckheimer is a legend and his work is very well-respected and will continue to be. Whenever you see a Jerry Bruckheimer film, you know it is going to be fun and quite a ride and that is what you get when you open this fantastic comprehensive guide to his still going strong career.