PHILIP H. ANSELMO AND THE ILLEGALS Present A Vulgar Display Of Pantera Exclusive Livestream April 9th; Tickets On Sale NOW!

PHILIP H. ANSELMO AND THE ILLEGALS will return to the stage next month for a very special livestream event.

Dubbed A Vulgar Display Of Pantera, the multi-camera shot, fully live performance will take place on Friday, April 9th and find the band celebrating the legacy of Pantera with a set featuring select cuts from the band’s five classic albums: Cowboys From HellVulgar Display Of PowerFar Beyond DrivenThe Great Southern Trendkill, and Reinventing The Steel! The livestream will also include an opening set by Australian grindcore unit/Housecore recording artists King Parrot.

Comments Anselmo, “It’s always fun to get together with THE ILLEGALS and pay tribute to Pantera with all the awesome fans jamming along with us. Let’s do this!”

The festivities will commence at 7:00pm EDT / 4:00pm PDT with PHILIP H. ANSELMO AND THE ILLEGALS taking the stage at 8:00pm EDT / 5:00pm PDT sharp. Video on demand will be available through Monday, April 12th at 11:59pm EDT / 8:59pm PDT.

Don’t miss it! Early bird tickets are $12.50 ($17.50 week of show). Find tickets and exclusive merch bundles at

PHILIP H. ANSELMO AND THE ILLEGALS’ A Vulgar Display Of Pantera Live is presented in association with Danny Wimmer Presents.

PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALS features Philip H. Anselmo (Pantera, Down, Superjoint, Scour, En Minor, etc.) with guitarists Stephen Taylor (Superjoint) and Mike DeLeon (Flesh Hoarder, Being Killed, ex-MOD), drummer Jose Manuel “Blue” Gonzalez (Superjoint, Warbeast), and bassist Derek Engemann (Scour, ex-Cattle Decapitation). The band’s most recent full-length, the critically-acclaimed Choosing Mental Illness As A Virtue, was released in 2018 via Anselmo’s own Housecore Records.

CD Review: Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals “Walk Through the Exits”

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals
“Walk Through the Exits”
HouseCore Records
Producer: Philip Anselmo/Michael Thompson
Tracks: 8

Our Score: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Pantera/Down/Super Joint Ritual front man Phil Anselmo is back with his first ever solo project “Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals. The group’s debut CD titled “Walk Through the Exits” was just released via HouseCore Records and features 8 tracks produced by Anselmo and Michael Thomson.

Having been a huge Pantera fan since the group’s first album I have always tried to keep up with Phil’s various side projects since the group disbanded in 2003 however that has proved to be somewhat of a full time job. From Super joint Ritual and Down to various other off shoots you never seem to know when the chameleon like front man will appear. Upon hearing that he would be released his first solo album I was quite interested in hearing what he had to offer. After my first run through of the 8 tracks that make up “Walk Through the Exits” I was left extremely confused and a bit disappointed. Every song seemed to lack direction and structure leaving nothing but a chaotic mess of noise. That’s not to say there were several riffs that started off great however those quickly disappeared in to the abyss of clutter. If I had to choose a favorite track off the album I would have to say that “Bedroom Destroyer” would be it. The song still was a bit of a cluster however I felt it had the most solid structure of the 8 tracks and was fairly accessible.

For those interested in something completely different and don’t mind music that is a little more free form then the debut release from Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals may be right up your alley.  But for those looking to find something in the vein of Phil’s previous work this might not be the best choice for you or someone looking for a new favorite group.

Track Listing:
1.) Music Media Is My Whore
2.) Battalion of Zero
3.) Betrayed
4.) Usurper’s Bastard Rant
5.) Walk Through the Exits
6.) Bedroom Destroyer
7.) Bedridden
8.) Irrelevant Walls and Computer Screens


Related Content