CD Review: Jimmy Eat World “Damage”

jimmyeat-damageJimmy Eat World
Release Date: June 11, 2013
Number of Discs: 1
Label: RCA
Running Time: 37 minutes

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

I have to admit, I am not the biggest Jimmy Eat World fan. I am a huge though a fan of their 2001 release “Bleed American”, with hit tracks like “The Middle” and “Sweetness”. I have yet to see them replicate that success since. “Damage” is the band’s seventh studio album and their follow up to 2010′s critically-acclaimed “Invented”. I have to admit even though it doesn’t have the pop and energy of “Bleed American”, it packs some good songs and certainly grows on you over time. I recently listened to the new Black Sabbath album “13″ and I liked it but after they were over I couldn’t see myself listening to them over and over. That is not the case with “Damage”. I have a feeling that this album is going to become an indie hit over this summer for sure.

This new album was produced by Jimmy Eat World and Alain Johannes. Some of the tracks on the album are better than others but all together it is a pretty well-rounded pop album. My favorite track on the album is the title track “Damage”, it is catchy and packs a great chorus. I can see this becoming quite popular for them. Their first official single “I Will Steal You Back” is another great song and like I said, I see this one becoming a summer hit. All the tracks add up to just under 40 minutes, which is not incredibly long but they are short, sweet and to the point. If you are a long-time fan, you should definitely enjoy this. I just wish they added a little more energy into some of the tracks. But like I said, after listening looping it over a few times, the album is starting to grow on me more and more.

Track Listing:
1. Appreciation
2. Damage
3. Lean
4. Book of Love
5. I Will Steal You Back
6. Please Say No
7. How’d You Have Me
8. No, Never
9. Byebyelove
10. You Were Good

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *