CD Review: Brendon Small’s “Galaktikon II: Become The Storm”

“Galaktikon II: Become The Storm”
Brendon Small
Megaforce Records
Producer: Brendon Small/Ulrich Wild
Tracks: 11

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

Dethklok mastermind Brendon Small returns with part two of his interstellar space saga titled “Galaktikon II: Become the Storm”. Continuing on with the space-age themes of 2012’s original “Galaktikon” album, “Become the Storm” is a heavier, darker and more brutal sound. In addition to Brendon Small and Grammy-nominated producer/engineer Ulrich Wild “Galaktikon II: Become The Storm” features the distinct rhythmic powers of drum legend Gene Hoglan and bassist extraordinaire Bryan Beller. With uncapped time and creativity on their side, the aforementioned artists have created a heavy metal opus that Dethklok fanatics will covet and newcomers will add to the top of their playlists.

After a five year wait fans of Dethklok creator Brendon Small have something new to fill their ear holes. “Galaktikon II: Become the Storm” instantly pickups up where the albums predecessor left off. From the thunderous attack of the opening track “Some Days Are For Dying” to the hauntingly eerie “The Ocean Galaktik” which features Small’s departure from his signature gritty growls to an almost crooning like style which certainly adds to the tracks uniqueness. Closing out the album were probably my two favourite tracks from the release. “Could This Be The End” is a blending of heavy metal styles which almost sums up the creators musical range in one singular track and the instrumental “Rebuilding A Planet” which is very much in the progressive style of Steve Vai or Joe Satriani but with Small’s own unique approach making for a really enjoyable listen.

“Galaktikon II: Become the Storm” is a fitting follow-up to its predecessor. The album contains ample amounts of signature Small and his assembled crew of musicians as they traverse deeper into the “Galaktikon” universe. You never know where the next track will take you as it twists and turns over the fictional universe which makes for an exciting listen defiantly worth checking out.

Track Listing:
1.) Some Days Are For Dying
2.) Icarus Six Sixty Six
3.) The Agenda
4.) The Ocean Galaktik
5.) My Name Is Murder
6.) Become The Storm
7.) Nightmare
8.) Could This Be The End
9.) To Kill A God
10.) Exitus
11.) Rebuilding A Planet

CD Review “Brendon Small’s Galaktikon”

Brendon Small
Producer: Ulrich Wild
Tracks: 9

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Galaktikon” is the first solo release from “Metalocalypse” master mind Brendon Small. Produced by Ulrich Wild “Galaktikon” is a concept album based around a superhero’s divorce and the subsequent kidnapping of his ex-wife. Each of the nine tracks are arranged so that the listener can follow along on this space themed musical adventure.

Being a fan of Brendon’s work in Dethklok I was very anxious to hear this album. Along with Small are Dethklok alums Gene Hoglan and Bryan Beller. Together the three provide some very in-depth and technical arrangements that are quite a bit different than the ear splitting, guttural tracks the group is primarily know for. Each of the album’s 9 tracks feature some really great melodic elements that I feel will help the album appeal to a broader audience. Tracks such as “Beastblade” feature heavy instrumentation with a unique blend of echo infused vocals. While the track “You Can’t Run Away” feels like a metal infused psychedelic odyssey cranked way beyond 11.

Brendon Small’s album “Galaktikon” will surely feel right at home next to your “Dethklok” and other metal albums. However you do not need to be a fan of Small’s previous work to appreciate this album. Personally I would have liked to have heard a duet with Small and his character Nathan Explosion as that I think would have put this album over the top. One can only hope that we will be privy to something of that magnitude in the near future. If you are looking for something heavy but without the cookie cutter layout of modern metal bands then do yourself a favor and pick up this album.

Track Listing:
1.) Triton
2.) Prophecy of the Lazer Witch
3.) Beastblade
4.) Deathwaltz
5.) Truth Orb and the Kill Pool
6.) You Can’t Run Away
7.) Arena War of the Immortal Masters
8.) Dangertits
9.) On My Way