CD Review “Brendon Small’s Galaktikon”

Brendon Small
Producer: Ulrich Wild
Tracks: 9

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Galaktikon” is the first solo release from “Metalocalypse” master mind Brendon Small. Produced by Ulrich Wild “Galaktikon” is a concept album based around a superhero’s divorce and the subsequent kidnapping of his ex-wife. Each of the nine tracks are arranged so that the listener can follow along on this space themed musical adventure.

Being a fan of Brendon’s work in Dethklok I was very anxious to hear this album. Along with Small are Dethklok alums Gene Hoglan and Bryan Beller. Together the three provide some very in-depth and technical arrangements that are quite a bit different than the ear splitting, guttural tracks the group is primarily know for. Each of the album’s 9 tracks feature some really great melodic elements that I feel will help the album appeal to a broader audience. Tracks such as “Beastblade” feature heavy instrumentation with a unique blend of echo infused vocals. While the track “You Can’t Run Away” feels like a metal infused psychedelic odyssey cranked way beyond 11.

Brendon Small’s album “Galaktikon” will surely feel right at home next to your “Dethklok” and other metal albums. However you do not need to be a fan of Small’s previous work to appreciate this album. Personally I would have liked to have heard a duet with Small and his character Nathan Explosion as that I think would have put this album over the top. One can only hope that we will be privy to something of that magnitude in the near future. If you are looking for something heavy but without the cookie cutter layout of modern metal bands then do yourself a favor and pick up this album.

Track Listing:
1.) Triton
2.) Prophecy of the Lazer Witch
3.) Beastblade
4.) Deathwaltz
5.) Truth Orb and the Kill Pool
6.) You Can’t Run Away
7.) Arena War of the Immortal Masters
8.) Dangertits
9.) On My Way

Share this article

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *