DVD Review “Anthrax: Chile on Hell”

“Anthrax: Chile on Hell”
Number of discs: 1
Rated: Unrated
Studio: Megaforce Records
Film Run Time: 1 hr 50 minutes

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

“Anthrax: Chile on Hell” is the latest live DVD release from thrash heavy weights Anthrax and was shot during the bands May 10th, 2013 performance at the Teatro Caupolican in Santiago, Chile. The disc is being released via Megaforce Records and is available on standard DVD and high definition Blu-Ray both of which feature ear splitting 5.1 surround sound.

Being a fan of live concert films I couldn’t wait to check out the latest release from Anthrax. Since the groups release of “Worship Music” the band has gone through somewhat of a revitalization period which long time fans like me are certainly enjoying. The newest release from the group is titled “Chile on Hell”. Filmed during the bands most recent trip to South America the track/set listing is a solid mixture of new songs such as “Fight ‘Em Til You Can’t” and “In the End” alongside classic Anthrax tracks like “Caught in a Mosh”, “Madhouse” and “Anti Social” all of which tear through your speakers and ears via crystal clear 5.1 surround sound.

Dispersed throughout the performance are a number of behind the scenes clips which for me were more of a miss than anything. The brief segues seemed to lack cohesiveness and pulled away from the bands performance killing some of the performance momentum.The film also features multiple camera angles ranging from your standard left, right and center, to the more adventurous headstock mounted camera shots and multiple drum cams showcasing drummer Charlie Benante’s fancy foot and stick work.

Overall I found the essence of the bands live show to be captured perfectly and I certainly can’t say enough good things about the sound however choppy editing, chaotic camera angles and the randomly dispersed behind the scene shots left me scratching my head on more than one occasion. Those things a side I still enjoyed the show but I do recommend to fans with a little extra cash in their pocket pick up the high definition Blu-Ray version as the standard DVD release at times gets a bit grainy causing the colors to appear washed out and flat.

Track Listing:
1.) Among the Living
2.) Caught in a Mosh
3.) I Am the Law
4.) Efilnikfuesin (NFL)
5.) A Skeleton in the Closet
6.) In the End
7.) T.N.T.
8.) I’m Alive
9.) Indians
10.) Medusa
11.) In My World
12.) Fight ‘Em Til You Can’t
13.) I’m the Man
14.) Madhouse
15.) Antisocial

Anthrax to Release “Chile on Hell” Live DVD

LOS ANGELES, CA – Wednesday, May 28, 2014 – Get ready to mosh in the privacy of your own home, because multiple Grammy-nominated, Platinum-selling thrash masters ANTHRAX have announced the release of “Chile On Hell,” a live-in-concert DVD that is set for a September 16, 2014 release. “Chile On Hell” was filmed at the Teatro Caupolican in Santiago, Chile on May 10, 2013, and features Anthrax – Joey Belladonna/vocals, Scott Ian/guitar, Charlie Benante/drums, Frank Bello/bass and Jon Donais/lead guitar. The band performed an extended set that featured songs from Anthrax’s entire catalogue – all the fan-favorites including “I Am The Law,” “Indians,” “Madhouse,” “Caught In A Mosh,” “The Devil You Know,” and “I’m Alive.” “Chile On Hell” will be available on DVD and Blu-Ray, was recorded in 5.1 Surround Sound, and will retail for $16.98.

“Santiago was the perfect place to film the show for this,” said Anthrax’s Charlie Benante. “When we’d played there in the past, we’d finish our set, play our encore and go back to the dressing room. But every time, the fans would continue to scream and cheer and clap. I mean, they went on and on, they wouldn’t stop. One time Scott and I walked out to the side of the stage just to watch what was going on in the audience, it was intense. Why wouldn’t we want to film a DVD in front of an audience like that?

“Plus,” Benante continued, the time was right to do this DVD.” The band was in the home stretch of a three-plus-year campaign to record and support Worship Music and the Anthems EP, a period of time that was loaded with high points: the return of “classic era” vocalist Joey Belladonna, Worship Music making the band’s highest chart debut in two decades, the series of Big Four shows – Anthrax, Metallica, Slayer and Metallica, the four bands that wrote the speed and thrash metal road map – that culminated in the September 2011 Big Four spectacular at Yankee Stadium in the band’s home town of New York, “Anthrax Day” declared in the Bronx, becoming the first metal band to have its music (“Got The Time”) played on Mars, two Grammy nominations, and sold out shows in every corner of the globe. “We wanted to finish on a high note,” Benante continued, “we didn’t want to look back and regret that we didn’t record the live show.”

“Chile On Hell” was produced by Jay Ruston and filmed by City Drive Entertainment Group and DC3 Global. The DVD’s cover art was designed by Stephen Thompson who partnered with Benante to “redesign” the artwork from last year’s Anthems EP.