DVD Review “Anthrax: Chile on Hell”

Chile on Hell“Anthrax: Chile on Hell”
Number of discs: 1
Rated: Unrated
Studio: Megaforce Records
Film Run Time: 1 hr 50 minutes

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

“Anthrax: Chile on Hell” is the latest live DVD release from thrash heavy weights Anthrax and was shot during the bands May 10th, 2013 performance at the Teatro Caupolican in Santiago, Chile. The disc is being released via Megaforce Records and is available on standard DVD and high definition Blu-Ray both of which feature ear splitting 5.1 surround sound.

Being a fan of live concert films I couldn’t wait to check out the latest release from Anthrax. Since the groups release of “Worship Music” the band has gone through somewhat of a revitalization period which long time fans like me are certainly enjoying. The newest release from the group is titled “Chile on Hell”. Filmed during the bands most recent trip to South America the track/set listing is a solid mixture of new songs such as “Fight ‘Em Til You Can’t” and “In the End” alongside classic Anthrax tracks like “Caught in a Mosh”, “Madhouse” and “Anti Social” all of which tear through your speakers and ears via crystal clear 5.1 surround sound.

Dispersed throughout the performance are a number of behind the scenes clips which for me were more of a miss than anything. The brief segues seemed to lack cohesiveness and pulled away from the bands performance killing some of the performance momentum.The film also features multiple camera angles ranging from your standard left, right and center, to the more adventurous headstock mounted camera shots and multiple drum cams showcasing drummer Charlie Benante’s fancy foot and stick work.

Overall I found the essence of the bands live show to be captured perfectly and I certainly can’t say enough good things about the sound however choppy editing, chaotic camera angles and the randomly dispersed behind the scene shots left me scratching my head on more than one occasion. Those things a side I still enjoyed the show but I do recommend to fans with a little extra cash in their pocket pick up the high definition Blu-Ray version as the standard DVD release at times gets a bit grainy causing the colors to appear washed out and flat.

Track Listing:
1.) Among the Living
2.) Caught in a Mosh
3.) I Am the Law
4.) Efilnikfuesin (NFL)
5.) A Skeleton in the Closet
6.) In the End
7.) T.N.T.
8.) I’m Alive
9.) Indians
10.) Medusa
11.) In My World
12.) Fight ‘Em Til You Can’t
13.) I’m the Man
14.) Madhouse
15.) Antisocial

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *