Album Review: Against Me! “Shape Shift With Me”

th6“Shape Shift With Me”
Against Me!
Total Treble Music
Producer: Laura Jane Grace, Marc Hudson
Tracks: 12

Our Score: 4 our of 5 stars

Against Me! is back with their seventh studio album title “Shape Shift With Me”. Produced by front-woman Laura Jane Grace and Marc Hudson the album features 12 brand new tracks which are being released via Total Treble Music. The album is the bands first new studio album since 2014’s “Transgender Dysphoria Blues” and is the follow up to the bands 2015 live album “23 Live Sex Acts”.

Against Me! have been moving at what seems like a relentless pace since the release of “Transgender Dysphoria Blues” in 2014. Between playing countless shows all around the globe, releasing a live album in 2015 and now with a new studio album to add to their resume the band seems to be firing on all cylinders. “Shape Shift With Me” further verifies that statement as the album despite clocking in at just under forty minutes bolsters quality song writing and performances which make you want to listen to this album over and over again. From the catchy choruses of “Boyfriend” and “Crash” to the seethe “Delicate, Petite & Other Things I’ll Never Be” and the rockabilly like rumblings of “Haunting, Haunted, Haunts the album is a diverse yet cohesive listen that grows on you the more and more you listen to it.

Though the latest offering from the band didn’t grab me right away like their two previous studio releases “Shape Shift With Me” over timed seeped into my senses and after a few full listens I found it to be the only thing I wanted to hear when it came time for some listening enjoyment. Don’t let the albums brief run time or the redundant opening track “ProVision L-3” sway your first responses as this is an album that needs a little breathing time and requires more than one or two listens before it settles in but, once it does it will quickly become a favorite.

Track Listing:
1.) ProVision L-3
2.) 12:03
3.) Boyfriend
4.) Crash
5.) Delicate, Petite & Other Things I’ll Never Be
6.) 333
7.) Haunting, Haunted, Haunts
8.) Dead Rats
9.) Rebecca
10.) Norse Truth
11.) Suicide Bomber
12.) All This (And More)

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *