CD Review “The Only Folk Collection You’ll Ever Need” Various Artists

folkcollection“The Only Folk Collection You’ll Ever Need”
Various Artists
Shout Factory
2 Discs
Tracks: 30

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

“The Only Folk Collection You’ll Ever Need” is the latest collection release from the good people at Shout Factory. 30 ground breaking tracks spread over two discs which lives up to the releases name. The album draws from the Folk music genre’s rich history including performance from acts such as The Carter Family and Peter, Paul and Mary to Bob Dylan and Joan Baez. The compilation really gives folkies a perfect mixture of music that defined a generation. The thing I found most enjoyable about this release was that it the actual artist performances of each track. A lot of times on these larger compilations there will be reinterpretations of the songs. This was definitely not the case here as each artist’s original performance is showcased. Included within the album linear notes is a brief synopsis from journalist Bill Bush on the Folk genre and the included compilation. With genre as rich as the Folk genre you certainly couldn’t include every great song that has been produced over the years however a good portion of them are contained on “The Only Folk Collection You’ll Ever Need” making this a nice addition to any music lovers collection.

Disc 1 Track Listing:
1.) Can the Circle Be Unbroken (Bye and Bye)
2.) Rock Island Line
3.) This Land is Your Land
4.) I’m a Man of Constant Sorrow
5.) Goodnight, Irene
6.) John Henry
7.) Tom Dooley
8.) Silver Threads and Golden Needles
9.) He Was a Friend of Mine
10.) Blowin’ In the Wind
11.) Four Strong Winds
12.) The Last Thing On My Mind
13.) The Times They Are A-Changing
14.) Roving Gambler
15.) Sitting On Top of the World

Disc 2 Track Listing:
1.) I Ain’t Marching Anymore
2.) Mr. Tambourine Man
3.) If I Had a Hammer (Live)
4.) Little Bit of Rain
5.) Catch the Wind
6.) There But For Fortune
7.) Early Mornin’ Rain
8.) I Shall Not Be Moved
9.) Thirsty Boots
10.) If I Were a Carpenter
11.) No Regrets
12.) Turn, Turn, Turn!/To Everything There is a Season
13.) Who Knows Where the Time Goes?
14.) Angel From Montgomery
15.) Ain’t No Grave Gonna Hold My Body Down

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *