CD Review: The Pretty Reckless “Going to Hell”

Going to HellThe Pretty Reckless
“Going to Hell”
Razor & Tie
Produced by: Kato Khandwala
Tracks: 12

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Gossip Girl” star Taylor Momsen and her band The Pretty Reckless is back with a brand new full length album titled “Going to Hell”. The album is the follow up release to the groups 2012 EP titled “Hit Me Like a Man” and features 12 brand new tracks produced by Kato Khandwala and are being released via Razor & Tie records.

Throw any preconceived notions about actress/lead vocalist Taylor Momsen out the window as the latest from The Pretty Reckless is a mixture of styles ranging from full on heavy metal to pop tinged dance tracks which making “Going to Hell” an interesting listen that runs ravage on your ear drums. You just never know what to expect when an artist crosses over to another discipline be it acting, music, sports etc. lot of times we are left underwhelmed by the attempt however Taylor Momsen and her band are the complete opposite. Their latest offering shows immense range and solid progression on all levels. Momsen takes on all styles. From the shredding scream induced “Sweet Things” to the soulfully acoustic track “Burn” Momsen certainly covers the style spectrum. Back by a solid band consisting of bassist Mark Damon, Drummer Jamie Perkins and Lead guitarist Ben Phillips the group sounds as though they have been playing together way past their years.

“Going to Hell” is not to be taken lightly or passed off as some actress’s half hearted side project. With the band’s latest release Momsen and company show that they have more than what it takes to be considered one of today’s top up and coming rock acts.

Track Listing:
1.) Follow Me Down
2.) Going to Hell
3.) Heaven Knows
4.) House on a Hill
5.) Sweet Things
6.) Dear Sister
7.) Absolution
8.) Blame Me
9.) Burn
10.) Why’d You Bring a Shotgun to the Party
11.) Fucked Up World
12.) Waiting for a Friend

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *