Blu-ray Review “Lady Antebellum: Live – On This Winter’s Night”

thiswinternightStarring: Lady Antebellum
Rated: NR (Not Rated)
Studio: Eagle Rock Entertainment
DVD Release Date: October 29, 2013
Run Time: 76 minutes

Film: 5 out of 5 stars
Extras: 4 out of 5 stars

I think that there is nothing that Lady Antebellum cannot do. Their music is quite amazing and crosses from beyond just country music fans. Last year when the band released “On This Winter’s Night”, it was easily my favorite Christmas album of the year and was on loop for endless plays on my phone. I was thrilled to find out that Eagle Rock is releasing a filmed concert of the band performing these songs at Nashville’s famed Schermerhorn Symphony Center along with more than 40 symphony orchestra musicians. This Blu-ray is a great way to get into the Christmas mood. I have a feeling that we are going to wearing this Blu-ray out this holiday season.

Official Premise: In between dates on their massively successful world tour, country superstars Lady Antebellum spent their brief summer break recording Christmas songs for their festive album On This Winter’s Night . This live concert film brings those songs to life with the help of more than 40 symphony orchestra musicians at Nashville’s famed Schermerhorn Symphony Center. The program includes seasonal favorites like ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’ and ‘Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow’, alongside the self-penned title track ‘On This Winter’s Night’. The collection includes 11 live performances along with personal Christmas stories, memories, and traditions that Lady Antebellum are sharing with their fans for the first time.

Eagle Rock Entertainment delivered this Blu-ray with a slightly disappointing 1080i transfer. It still looks good enough for the live performance. The DTS-HD Master Audio track delivers a solid sound for these tracks. This Blu-ray includes some decent special features as well.  There are five acoustic tracks including “Blue Christmas,” “The First Noel,” “Silent Night (Lord Of My Life),” “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” and “A Holly Jolly Christmas”. There is a promo video for “A Holly Jolly Christmas”. There are “5 Things You Didn’t Know About The Holly Jolly Christmas Video”. There is a behind-the-scenes look into the track “A Holly Jolly Christmas” and also a making of “On This Winter’s Night”.

Track List:
1) A Holly Jolly Christmas
2) On This Winter’s Night
3) This Christmas
4) I’ll Be Home For Christmas
5) Silver Bells
6) Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow
7) Blue Christmas
8) The First Noel
9) Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)
10) Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
11) Silent Night (Lord Of My Life)


Related Content

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *