CD Review: Imminent Sonic Destruction “Recurring Themes”

Imminent Sonic Destruction
“Recurring Themes”
Producer: Roy Z
Tracks: 9

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Recurring Themes” is the latest release from the Detroit based progressive/metal band Imminent Sonic Destruction. The bands line up consists of Tony Piccoli – Lead Vocals/ Guitars, Pat DeLeon Drums/Percussion, Scott Thompson – Guitars/Vocals, Pete Hopersberger – Keyboards/Vocals and Bryan Paxton – Bass/Vocals. Together they are independently releasing their new album which features 9 original tracks produced by Roy Z (Halford, Bruce Dickinson).

Prior to listening to the new album from Imminent Sonic Destruction I was a little worried that I would be spending the next hour or so trying to digest another progressive rock album. An album without label backing worried me even further. Despite my preconceived notions I forged ahead and was greatly surprised by the power and diversity found on “Recurring Themes”. Vocalist Tony Piccoli does a great job blending melodic harmonies and guttural growling over the top of some really great instrumentation. Tracks like “Breaking Through” and “Here, It’s Over” really showcase the band as a collective crushing unit. Though there are a couple tracks that run past the 10 minute mark the arrangements of those songs are put together in a way that keep the listener on track.

The band along with producer Roy.Z did a good job at making a really solid album that I feel will stand out above a lot of others in the progressive/rock, metal genre. If you are a fan of bands like Strapping Young Lad and Meshuggah you surely want to check out the latest release from the Motor City’s Imminent Sonic Destruction

Track Listing:
1.) Driving Home
2.) Monster
3.) With Death, The Story Ends
4.) Breaking Through
5.) Temple
6.) Here, It’s Over
7.) Sick
8.) The Remembering
9.) Raven

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *