CD Review: Bullet For My Valentine "Temper Temper"

Bullet For My Valentine
“Temper Temper”
Release Date: February 12, 2013
Label: RCA/RED
Produced by Don Gilmore

Our Score: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I was first introduced to the Welch metal band “Bullet For My Valentine” back in 2010 with the “Fever”.  Since then I have yet to take “Fever” off of my iPhone and consistently listen to it.  When I heard that the band was releasing a new album, which could be a good thing or bad thing, I was very excited and also nervous. Well let’s just say I have another favorite album to listen to. “Temper Temper” is a very fierce and foot-to-the-pedal metal album.  It has the same feel as “Fever” but more heavy and amped up.  If you are looking to rock out hard, be sure to check this album out. You will not be disappointed.

The first single from the album is “Riot” and it really sets the mood for this entire album. It is fast, in-your-face and great to get to pumped up. “Leech” is also a fantastic track.  The title track “Temper Temper” is very catchy and was one of my most replayed songs.  Speaking of reply value, when I listen to an album I like to be able to leave it on repeat and forget when I am at.  The first time I listened to “Temper Temper”, I left it consistently on loop for nearly eight hours and I honestly was not tired of any of the tracks. In fact, I only wanted to listen to them more. That is how you know that you have an amazing album.

“Temper Temper” is produced by Don Gilmore (Linkin Park / Pearl Jam), who also worked with the band on their previous album, 2010’s “Fever”. I must say that this is a match made in heaven. This duo is a win-win here.  In fact the more I listen to “Temper Temper”, I have to proclaim that this album is the band’s best attempt to date! I can’t wait to catch them live during this tour since I am looking forward to the execution of these new songs live.  If you are a die-hard “Bullet for My Valentine” fan, be sure to pick up the deluxe edition with three additional tracks “Not Invincible” and two tracks from the Live Lounge show on BBC Radio 1: “Whole Lotta Rosie” and “Scream Aim Fire”.

01. Breaking Point
02. Truth Hurts
03. Temper Temper
04. Pow
05. Dirty Little Secret
06. Leech
07. Dead To The World
08. Riot
09. Saints n Sinners
10. Tears Don’t Fall (Part 2)
11. Livin Life (On The Edge of A Knife)