Judas Priest Release First Single “Lightning Strike” From Upcoming Album “Firepower”


Judas Priest could easily rest on their laurels at this stage of their highly successful and influential career. However, the legendary metal band – singer Rob Halford, guitarists Glenn Tipton and Richie Faulkner, bassist Ian Hill, and drummer Scott Travis – refuse to do so as evidenced by the arrival of their eighteenth studio album overall – ‘Firepower,’ which can be pre-ordered via the link http://smarturl.it/Firepower.

Set for release on Friday, March 9th, 2018 via Epic Records – the album is comprised of fourteen tracks of pure and highly inspired metal. And to mark the occasion Priest has reunited with producer Tom Allom (the man behind the board for all of the band’s releases from 1979-1988, including such stellar classics as ‘Unleashed in the East,’ ‘British Steel,’ ‘Screaming for Vengeance’ and ‘Defenders of the Faith’) and with Grammy Award-winning producer Andy Sneap also helping to raise the sonic bar even higher.

“Tom Allom has got this classic metal thing,” explains Halford. “And Andy is a bit more of a ‘modern metal producer’ but his thinking is a little bit different to Tom’s. And I think to get this balance between that classic old school metal to what Andy’s world is was just a remarkable coalescence.” “Tom Allom has been with us since 1979, so his knowledge of ourselves and our music in general is immense,” adds Hill. And according to Travis Priest returned back to a recording method that worked incredibly well on the band’s earlier classics – “We went back to the organic way of recording where it’s all of us in a room and we got to play together.”

The album’s first single, ‘Lightning Strike’ will be available worldwide on Friday, January 5, 2018, and on the same day the song’s music video will be premiered (and can be viewed via http://smarturl.it/JPLightningStrikeVid). Full album pre-order and a PledgeMusic pre-order (https://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/judas-priest) will also begin the same day which includes exclusive limited autographed colored vinyl, autographed vinyl test pressings, an exclusive Judas Priest t-shirt and an extremely limited number of Judas Priest autographed guitars.

With the impending arrival of ‘Firepower’ and its ensuing tour (which kicks off on March 13th), THE PRIEST IS BACK!


1. Firepower
2. Lightning Strike
3. Evil Never Dies
4. Never The Heroes
5. Necromancer
6. Children of the Sun
7. Guardians
8. Rising From Ruins
9. Flame Thrower
10. Spectre
11. Traitors Gate
12. No Surrender
13. Lone Wolf
14. Sea of Red


Blu-ray Review "Atlas Shrugged II: The Strike"

Actors: Samantha Mathis, D.B. Sweeney, Michael Gross, Ray Wise, Jason Beghe, Esai Morales, Patrick Fabian, Kim Rhodes
Directors: John Putch
Rated: PG-13 (Parental Guidance Suggested)
Studio: Fox Home Entertainment
Release Date: February 19, 2013
Run Time: 111 minutes

Film: 3 out of 5 stars
Extras: 2.5 out of 5 stars

First let me start that I have never read Ayn Rand novel for “Atlas Shrugged”. Before I recently saw “Atlas Shrugged: Part One”, I heard a lot of negative aspects about the film. I actually liked it, sort of. The film feels like a corporate soap opera. The story is a little light and the acting is a little campy and over-the-top. It also leaves us with a real WTF moment, which leads right into this next film. This film picks up right after the first and continues the story. The sequel though has a bigger budget and a better cast including D.B. Sweeney, Michael Gross, Ray Wise and Patrick Fabian. The film still has its problems but I enjoyed it as much as I did the first. Don’t worry if you liked this film “Atlas Shrugged: Part III” comes out July 4, 2014.

Official Premise: Part two of Ayn Rand’s groundbreaking novel comes to the screen in this thrilling and powerful drama. The global economy is on the brink of collapse. Brilliant creators, from artists to industrialists, continue to mysteriously disappear. Dagny Taggart, Vice President in Charge of Operations for Taggart Transcontinental, has discovered what may very well be the answer to a mounting energy crisis – a revolutionary motor that could seemingly power the World. But, the motor is dead… there is no one left to decipher its secret… and, someone is watching. It’s a race against the clock to find the inventor before the motor of the World is stopped for good.

Fox delivered a decent Blu-ray here with a very sharp 1080p transfer for the film that was shot digitally and presented with an 1.78:1 aspect ratio.  The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 audio track included also works well with the score and the dialogue.  The special features are not the greatest but worth checking out if you enjoyed the film.  First up, “Behind The Scenes of Atlas Shrugged Part II” gives a nice look into the production and the action sequences. It runs just under 10 minutes, which is a little short but worth checking out.  “Sean Hannity Extended Segment” takes a longer look into the Fox News anchor working with the actors and is presented in standard definition. Lastly there are fifteen deleted scenes, which run about 15 minutes together or can be viewed individually.