Concert Review: Dashboard Confessional, All American Rejects, The Maine

Dashboard Confessional, All American Rejects, The Maine, The Social Animals
Saturday, July 29th, 2017
Tags Summer Stage, Big Flats, NY

Our score: 3 out of 5 stars

Dashboard Confessional brought their summer tour to the rolling hills of Big Flats, NY on July 21st for a night of nostalgia that had the mostly millennial crowd on its feet for a majority of the evening. Also on the bill was Oklahoma hit makers All American Rejects, The Maine and new comers The Social Animals. Though the nights unseasonably frigid temperatures had people packing on a few extra layers each of the bands on the bill did their best to keep everyone up and moving.

Opening up the night were The Social Animals who performed a handful of songs of their debut EP “Formative Years” as well as unique version of the Prince hit “When Does Cry” which earned the young band a warm Upstate NY welcome in the way of applause and cheer. The Maine would take the stage next kicking the night’s energy up a notch as vocalist worked the audience like a true professional and at one point during the set brought up a young concert goer to help sing one of the bands songs which the crowd loved. All American Rejects would follow with a hit filled set that included “Dirty Little Secret”, “Swing, Swing” and “Gives You Hell” which was interspersed with semi comedic segues courtesy of front man Tyson Ritter. Thankfully the bands performance was a touch better than Ritter’s jokes as those on hand seemed to prefer the band stick to what it knows best. Closing out the night was the Chris Carrabba fronted Dashboard Confessional a band which wasted no time at all getting their set going with the well know track “Vindicated” which paved the way for other notable tracks such as the crowd requested “Saints and Sailors”, “Ghost of a Good Thing” and “Screaming Infidelities” before the set was closed out with the always popular “Hands Down”. The band looked good and sounded better making for a solid ending to a night of good music.

With this tour package running through mid August there is still time to catch one of the remaining shows as its one half nostalgia and one half new as all the bands on the bill do a great job of playing the songs that made them who they are while infusing just enough new material to peak interest in the bands upcoming releases. If your one of the lucky “select” shows where The Social Animals are on the bill I highly recommend getting to the venue early to catch their set as you won’t be disappointed.

All American Rejects (Partial) Set List:
Dirty Little Secret
My Paper Heart
Swing, Swing
It Ends Tonight
Move Along
Give You Hell

Dashboard Confessional (Partial)Set list:
Saints and Sailors
The Good Fight
Ghost of a Good Thing
Heart Beat Here
Screaming Infidelities
Hands Down

Album Review: Hatebreed “The Concrete Confessional”

“The Concrete Confessional”
Nuclear Blast
Producer: Chris “Zuess” Harris
Tracks: 13

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

The kings of Connecticut hardcore Hatebreed are back with their first new album in three years titled “The Concrete Confessional”. The album which is being released via Nuclear Blast was produced by Chris Harris features 13 brand new tracks from the New Haven natives and serves as the follow up release to the bands 2013 album “The Divinity of Purpose”.

Hatebreed come out swinging with their latest offering “The Concrete Confessional”. Packed with crushing guitar riffs and brilliant break downs there’s very little (if anything) missing from this release. Front-man Jamey Jasta sounds as powerful as ever while the rest of the band consisting of Chris Beattie, Wayne Lozinak, Matt Byrne and, Frank Novinec provide equally impressive performances over the course of the albums 13 aggressive tracks. Songs like the albums opening track “A.D.” and “Us Against Us” hit you square between the eyes pummeling your senses while tracks like “Seven Enemies” and “Slaughtered In Their Dreams” feature a slightly slower pace yet still retain the bands ferocity and drive. From a production standpoint the album has a solid mix that does a great job showcasing the bands signature sound. Despite a lot of the songs being in lower tuning registers tones sound equally audible and lively on both headphones and larger speakers.

If you are looking for something to kick start your senses grab a copy of “The Concrete Confessional” and go to town! From start to finish the album is pure intensity as it will quickly take your adrenaline levels to the extreme. Any fan of hardcore/metal music will want to check this album out as it is truly a solid piece of musical work.

Track Listing:
1.) A.D.
2.) Looking Down the Barrel of Today”
3.) Seven Enemies
4.) In the Walls
5.) From Grace We’ve Fallen
6.) Us Against Us
7.) Something’s Off
8.) Remember When
9.) Slaughtered in Their Dreams
10.) The Apex Within
11.) Walking the Knife
12.) Dissonance
13.) Serve Your Masters