CD Review: Motorhead “Everything Louder Forever” The Very Best of Motorhead

“Everything Louder Forever” The Very Best of Motorhead

Tracks: 42
Format: 2 CD’s, 2 LP’s, Deluxe 4 LP Fold Out

Our score 3.5 out of 5 stars

Motorhead the loudest, meanest, dirtiest music to smash the 20th and 21st will release a new collection of songs from their storied career titled “Everything Louder Forever” The Very Best of Motorhead on October 29th. The collection is the definitive assembly of Motorhead songs which created a cultural phenomenon and represents for the first time all eras of the band’s recorded history have been represented in one place. The collection features 42 songs spread which are being released via BMG and available on digital, CD and Vinyl formats.

Since the passing of legendary front man Lemmy Kilmister in 2015 there has been a steady flow of compilations and re-releases of the Motorhead catalog. The latest edition to be added to that list is “Everything Louder Forever” The Very Best of Motorhead a 42-track collection of songs from all eras of the bands career. Over the course of two CD’s or 2/4 LP’s (2 LP standard, 4 LP Deluxe) listeners are treated to the most expansive collection of Motorhead songs thus far. From the more well-known tracks like “Overkill”, “Killed by Death” and “Ace of Spades” to lesser-known gems like “Keys to the Kingdom”, “Lost Johnny” and “Choking on Your Screams” each disc features a solid balance with all era’s being mixed evenly across both discs. This was something I really liked about the release as often times compilations are broken down chronologically but with “Everything Louder Forever” you can throw on either disc and get a nice blend of Motorhead stylings. They even went as far to include WWE Superstar Triple H’s theme song “The Game” which I thought was a great and welcomed addition.

“Everything Louder Forever” The Very Best of Motorhead may not offer anything new in the way of unreleased tracks or never before heard live recordings however it does offer a unique and expansive track listing that previous compilations did not include. You get all eras of Motorhead in one place. From Philthy Animal Phil and Fast Eddie to Phil Campbell, Wurzel and Mikkey Dee all members are represented here which something I certainly enjoyed as each member brought a unique style to the band and music. Though the album doesn’t have one definitive mix across the 42 songs causing for some volume and eq changes this is certainly my favorite post Lemmy offering. Included in the package is a cool fold out with a rendering of Lemmy’s Murder One amp on one side and four different group shots of the band along with track listings and member info on the other side which is a nice little edition to the package. If you are looking for the broadest collection of Motorhead material without the need for stacks of LP’s and CD’s requiring frequent changes then “Everything Louder Forever” The Very Best of Motorhead is a must.

“Everything Louder Forever” Track Listing:

Disc 1

1.) Overkill
2.) We Are Motorhead
3.) Snaggletooth
4.) Rock It
5.) Orgasmatron
6.) Brotherhood of Man
7.) In the Name of Tragedy
8.) Bomber
9.) Sacrifice
10.) The Thousand Names of God
11.) Love for Sale
12.) Killed by Death
13.) I’m SO Bad (Baby I Don’t Care)
14.) Smiling Like a Killer
15.) Sharpshooter
16.) Queen of the Damned
17.) Keys to the Kingdom
18.) Cradle to the Grave
19.) Lost Johnny
20.) The Game

Disc 2 Track Listing:

1.) Ace of Spades
2.) Burner
3.) Stone Dead Forever
4.) Bad Woman
5.) Just ‘Cos You Got the Power
6.) Stay Out of Jail
7.) No Class
8.) I Am the Sword
9.) The Chase is Better Than the Catch
10.) God Save the Queen
11.) R.A.M.O.N.E.S
12.) Iron Fist
13.) Rock Out
14.) Dirty Love
15.) Shine
16.) Overnight Sensation
17.) On Your Feet or On Your Knees
18.) I Ain’t No Nice Guy
19.) Sucker
20.) 1916
21.) Choking on Your Screams
22.) Motorhead

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *