Concert Review: “Transgender Dysphoria Tour 2015” Buffalo, NY

AM1“Transgender Dysphoria Tour 2015”
Against Me!, Frank Iero & the Cellebration, Annie Girl & the Flight
Date: Wednesday, June 24th 2015
Venue: Town Ballroom, Buffalo, NY

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

Against Me! made their way back to the quaint Town Ballroom located in Buffalo, NY as part of their ongoing Transgender Dysphoria tour. Along for the ride this time around were San Francisco, Bay Area native Annie Girl & the Flight and former My Chemical Romance guitarist Frank Iero and his band the Cellebration. Despite the show being mid-week the venue was near capacity with a crowd set to give their all.

Taking the stage first would be Annie Girl & the Flight. The bands sounds were a mix/match of styles ranging from experimental garage rock to modern folk. The group performed songs off their self titled debut as well as songs from their latest EP “Bodies. It was hard at times to figure out which direction the band would go in next however the uncertainty made for an interesting listening experience as the band showed off an impressive range that kept listeners on their toes.

Former My Chemical Romance guitarist Frank Iero would be up next with his group “Frank Iero & the Cellebration”. As the band took the stage they were greeted with tremendous applause and instantly launched in to their 30+ minute set AM2which was made up of songs from the groups “Stomachaches” album was high energy from the word go. The band took little time in between songs packing as much music as they could into their brief set which acted as the catalyst that upped the night’s energy.

Against Me! would close out the night with an impressive set of 20+ songs that band blasted through in rapid fire succession. Front woman Laura Jane Grace commanded the microphone like a true professional and really shined on songs such as “Black Me Out”, “Thrash Unreal” and “FuckMyLife666”. Another stand out of the nights set was the bands rendition of The Replacements song “Androgynous” which Laura and drummer Atom Willard performed a few months ago with Miley Cyrus and Joan Jett for Cyrus’s Happy Hippie Foundation. Despite front woman Grace appearing a bit tired (no doubt from her relentless tour cycle) the band sounded killer as always which made for a really great night of music.

If you for some reason or another have yet to catch an Against Me! show over the past year or so then what are you waiting for? There are still plenty of opportunities as the band will continue to tour the States through July before heading to Europe where they will be through August only to come back for another round of shows in the U.S. which run through September.

Against Me! Set List:
1.) I Was a Teenage Anarchist
2.) Walking Is Still Honest
3.) Cliché Guevara
4.) You Look Like You Need A Drink
5.) White Crosses
6.) Dead Friend
7.) Pints of Guinness Make You Strong
8.) Unconditional Love
9.) FuckMyLife666
10.) The Ocean
11.) T.S.R. (This Shit Rules)
12.) Drinking With the Jocks
13.) Bamboo Bones
14.) Transgender Dysphoria Blues
15.) Because of the Shame/Thrash Unreal
16.) Black Me Out
17.) True Trans Soul Rebel
18.) Tonight We’re Gonna Give It 35%
19.) Androgynous
20.) Don’t Lose Touch
21.) Sink Florida Sink

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *