CD Review: Black Veil Brides “Black Veil Brides”

Black_Veil_Brides_IV_(Black_Veil_Brides_album)Black Veil Brides
“Black Veil Brides”
Producer: Bob Rock
Tracks: 11

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Black Veil Brides” is the latest release from the rock band of the same name. The album is the follow up release to the group’s 2013 concept album “Wretched and Divine: The Story of the Wild Ones”. The album is being released by Lava/Universal and features 11 brand new tracks produced by legendary producer Bob Rock that blur the lines between rock, metal and punk.

After being a bit put off by BVB’s 2013 concept album I wasn’t too sure what to expect with the latest offering from the band. Thankfully the group has appeared to have returned to its roots as “Black Veil Brides” is a straight forward rock/metal album speckled with nods to the bands early influences. Producer Bob Rock (Metallica, Motley Crue) showcases why he has been and still is the guy to go to if you want to capture that late eighties/pre-grunge era rock sound as each track has the perfect balance of flash and balls. Combine that with lead vocalist Andy Biersack’s gritty operatic style and you have the makings of what could be considered the bands most powerful release to date. Tracks like the albums take no prisoners opener “Heart of Fire” and the in your face “World of Sacrifice” shred through your speakers while more laid back tracks like “Goodbye Agony” and the ballad like approach of “Walk Away” will appeal to listeners on a whole new level.

Though at times I did find the album to be a bit over produced it wasn’t enough to pull my attention completely away what the band was trying to accomplish. Black Veil Brides may have been the band who first burst on to the scene sporting an over the top, make up stained look reminiscent of the 1980’s glam era however all of that is now gone and the band appears to be all business and their latest “Black Veil Brides” certainly helps prove that.

Track Listing:
1.) Heart of Fire
2.) Faithless
3.) Devil in the Mirror
4.) Goodbye Agony
5.) World of Sacrifice
6.) Last Rites
7.) Stolen Omen
8.) Walk Away
9.) Drag Me to the Grave
10.) The Shattered God
11.) Crown of Thorns

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *