CD Review: Reverend Horton Heat “REV”

revReverend Horton Heat
Victory Records
Tracks: 13

Our Score: 4.5 out of 5 stars

The high octane psycho-billy rebels know as Reverend Horton Heat are back with their 11th studio album simply titled “REV”. Though it has been four years since the bands previous release “Laughin’ & Cryin’ with the Reverend Horton Heat” the 3 piece band from Texas have not missed a beat. The album which is the band’s first since signing with Victory Records features 13 tracks which are very reminiscent of the bands early material.

Having been a fan of the Reverend since the early 90’s I was pretty excited when I started to hear grumblings that the band was working on a new album. Little did I know how surprised I was going to be when I was finally able to listen to it. Classic RHH all the way! The album wastes no kicking the tires and lighting the fires as it blasts right out of the gate with the instrumental track “Victory Lap” which showcases the always impressive instrumental skills of Jim “The Rev Heath”, Jimbo Wallace and Scott Churilla.

As the album progresses you hear everything from classic rockabilly to country and all stops in between. The song “Schizoid” is vintage RHH through and through from its subject matter to the Rev’s signature “yeahs”. The track “My Hat” is the perfect dance number for those looking to swing the night away while the album’s first single “Let Me Teach You How to Eat” goes straight for the throat in blazing style. Don’t let a four year gap between albums scare you away as “REV” is all killer and no filler. Even if you never thought about buying an RHH album in the past this one is a great starting place as it does a great job of capturing all of the bands style and sound.

Track Listing:
1.) Victory Lap
2.) Smell of Gasoline
3.) Never Gonna Stop It
4.) Zombie Dumb
5.) Spooky Boots
6.) Schizoid
7.) Scenery Going By
8.) My Hat
9.) Let Me Teach You How to Eat
10.) Mad Mad Heart
11.) Longest Gonest Man
12.) Hardscrabble Woman
13.) Chasing Rainbows

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *