DVD Review “Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness – Good Croc, Bad Croc”

kungfu-tv1Actors: Mick Wingert, Fred Tatasciore, Kari Wahlgren, Max Koch, Amir Talai
Rated: PG (Parental Guidance Suggested)
Studio: 20th Century Fox
DVD Release Date: June 18, 2013
Run Time: 154 minutes

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness” is a spin-off animated series in the “Kung Fu Panda” franchise and takes place between the two films. Mike Wingert has done a great job stealing Jack Black’s voice to give life to Po. Lucy Lu and James Hong are the only cast returning from the series. I have to admit since this series started airing in 2011, I am surprised that it took so long to start releasing these episodes on DVD. This show would have benefited so much more from a Blu-ray transfer with its great animation and colorful episodes. This show doesn’t have the same charm of the films but it is still action-packed, funny and clever. So kids (and most adults) should have a blast with these episodes.

Official Premise: Brace yourself for awesome action and legendary laughs in this fun-filled animated TV series based on the Academy Awardr-Nominated hit movie Kung Fu Panda! As the chosen Dragon Warrior and sworn protector of the Valley of Peace, Po the panda is highly skilled, ever vigilant and hungry for justice…and dumplings. Together with the Furious Five – Tigress, Monkey, Mantis, Crane and Viper – Po must fend off fierce villains, including an evil version of himself (courtesy of the Mystical Mirror of Yin and Yang) and the toothy Croc Bandits!

There are seven episodes included out of over fifty episodes that has aired to date, but that still adds to nearly three hours of kung-fu action packed adventures.  The episodes included are “Good Croc, Bad Croc”, episodes 6; “The Princess and the Po”, episode 2; “Chain Reaction. episode 4; “Bad Po”, episode 10; “Jailhouse Panda”, episode 8; “Father Crime”, episode 25; “Po Fans Out”, episode 18. This is a nice sample of the show’s first season but I still would rather get a complete season one DVD release. There are no additional special features included amongst these episodes. Though, in the case there is a code included to unlock power-ups, exclusive downloads and more on the all-new online game “Croc Crackdown” on Nick’s website. If you want more you will happy to know that the included pamphlet advertises “The Scorpion Sting”  DVD release and more are coming soon.

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *