CD Review: Vision of Disorder “The Cursed Remain Cursed”

Vision of Disorder
The Cursed Remain Cursed
Candlelight Records
Producer: Will Putney
Release Date: September 18, 2012
Tracks: 11

Our Score: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I have been a fan of VOD since 1996 and I remember, like it was yesterday, listening to them on the school bus every single day on….cassette…that’s right kiddies. “The Cursed Remain Cursed” marks the bands first studio album in 11 years. It also marks the bands best album since the self-titled debut. Now before I get yelled out by the internet trolls, “Imprint” is a fucking amazing album don’t get me wrong but their debut has always been my favorite. And for that matter as much I like the first album, this release really gives it a hell of a challenge. It is mad, fast and fucking intense, exactly what VOD should be. If you are looking for a trip down memory lane, I highly recommend this album, VOD has never sounded better.

“The Cursed Remain Cursed” is the band’s first album from Candlelight Records, who recently have become a label to reckon with. The Long Island, NY guys teamed up with producer Will Putney (Shadows Fall) for these new eleven tracks.  Tim Williams really delivers a raw and true performance, his vocal tracks are just as angry and well-aimed as they were back in 1996. Guitarist Mike Kennedy really shreds heavy and brings back the hardcore.  The album’s lead single “Loveless” is easily one of my favorite tracks. “The Enemy” is also one fast and heavy track.  What I am dying to see is these songs performed live.  I hope that the band is planning on heading to the Orlando, FL area (hint, hint) these tracks will make for one hell of an amazing mosh-pit.  (Note to my wife: No I will be not be in the mosh-pit ;-), but I can still observe)

Since this band was one of my main influences into hardcore music, I highly recommend this to anyone looking to go fucking crazy.  If you are looking for the effect that this band has on people around them, I have a quick story for you.  Earlier this month, I driving to work listening the track “Watering Disease”. I was sitting at a red light with a car behind me and that car had its windows opened. With that song blasting, I look behind me and the lady was literally closing her window and was, no joke, holding her ears!! And that my friends is the power of VOD! “The Cursed Remain Cursed” drops September 18, 2012, be sure to pick that shit up! Easily one of my favorite albums of the year!

Track Listing:
1. Leveless
2. Set To Fail
3. Blood Red Sun
4. Hard Times
5. Annihilator
6. Skullz Out (Rot In Pieces)
7. The Enemy
8. The Seventh Circle
9. New Order of Ages
10. Be Up On It
11. Heart And Soul

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *