CD Review: James Durbin “Memories of a Beautiful Disaster”

James Durbin
“Memories of a Beautiful Disaster”
Producer: Howard Benson
Tracks: 11

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Memories of a Beautiful Disaster” is the first release from American Idol: Season 10 contestant James Durbin. The album is being released via Wind-Up records and features 11 original tracks produced by Howard Benson. The iTunes digital version of “Memories of a Beautiful Disaster” features two additional bonus tracks not included on the CD release.

Not being a fan of “American Idol” I am at times a little unfamiliar with those involved with the show. In this case I had heard of James Durbin but I still wasn’t too sure what to expect from his album. Upon my first listen I was immediately drawn in. “Memories of a Beautiful Disaster” features a collection of songs in a variety of styles all of which seem to really fit Durbin’s voice perfectly. Tracks such as “Everything Burns” the hard rocking “Higher Than Heaven” and “Outcast” featuring Motley Crue guitarist Mick Mars were definitely personal favorites. The album has a great flow while showcasing producer Howard Benson’s keen ear. Fans of “American Idol” will definitely want to pick this album for their collections. While those not familiar with the show or with James’s work will also want to check this album out as it really is great piece of work and has a little something for everyone.

Track Listing:
1.) Higher Than Heaven
2.) All I Want
3.) Love In Ruins
4.) Right Behind You
5.) Love Me Bad
6.) Deeper
7.) May
8.) Screaming
9.) Outcast
10.) Everything Burns
11.) Stand Up
12.) Liberate (ITunes Bonus)
13.) Back For More (ITunes Bonus)

Also be sure to check out our interview with James Durbin located in the interview portion of the site.

6 Replies to “CD Review: James Durbin “Memories of a Beautiful Disaster””

  1. James Durbin’s revelation of rock music from 2011-2012, great singer and great man, we love you James. When he sings his heart does.

  2. This album is definitely a buy! I’m finding myself liking every single song in the album, which is quite rare. James is so talented, his voice so dynamic, and his personality so interesting that it’s no wonder this album is consisted of a variety of musical styles, but never losing that rocker’s flair. Once I listen to it, I’m totally hooked!!! I haven’t been able to listen to anything else except his album.

  3. Thanks for the review. I agree completely – Memories of a Beautiful Disaster is a very good album and I highly recommend it.

  4. Love this album, it is on in the house and in my car. Actually, it is blasting in my car, in the house I have to be a little considerate of the rest of the family. I want more from this kid.

  5. Thanks for the great review for James album. Read it – Liking it – & agree 100%. Every song a hit! Check James & his band out at Walmart Soundcheck for a good look at 5 fantastic songs from the album–well worth the “online” experience. I’m a huge fan!

  6. The cd is great.. This is not a cd to listen to in a low volume. You may not like all songs at 1st but by the 4th time I really listened without interruption could not find one bad song . Not many artist today can say that with the exception of great hit cd’s . Usually you get a max of 3 songs on a cd you like. So in that I would have to say A+++++++++++ James.. Definately a great buy….

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *