CD Review: Metallica “Beyond Magnetic- EP”

“Beyond Magnetic- EP”
E/M Ventures
Tracks: 4

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

“Beyond Magnetic” is the latest release from Rock and Roll Hall of Fame members Metallica. The EP features four unreleased track originally recorded during the “Death Magnetic” sessions. Along with the release of the EP Metallica celebrated their 30 year anniversary by playing a sold out four night stand at the historic Fillmore Theater in the bands home town of San Francisco. The 4 tracks contained on “Beyond Magnetic” were originally only available to Metallica Club members but they are now available to all via digital download and various retail locations.

I was very pleased that Metallica decided to release these 4 great songs. For those who remember the “Death Magnetic” sessions were taped with portions being show each day via the site Mission Metallica. During those daily clips you saw and heard a lot of the album prior to its release. One song featured heavily in the web series “Just A Bullet Away” appears on this EP. All four songs on the EP are great songs and feature bombastic arrangements that have something for fans both new and old. The track “Rebel of Babylon” takes you on an 8 minute metal fueled journey that is sure to leave your neck sore by the end.

A lot can be said about Metallica and their 30 year career both good and bad. As of late the band seems to really be firing on all cylinders and showing no signs of slowing down. “Beyond Magnetic” is a must have for Metallica and hard rock fans alike and for $3.99 via digital download you just can’t go wrong.

Track Listing:
1.) Hate Train
2.) Just A Bullet Away
3.) Hell and Back
4.) Rebel of Babylon

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *