CD Review: Andy Timmons “Andy Timmons Band Plays Sgt. Pepper”

Andy Timmons
“Andy Timmons Band Plays Sgt. Pepper”
Label: Favored Nations Entertainment
Running Time: 48 minutes
14 Tracks

Our Score: 4.5 out of 5 stars

The Beatles “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” is definitely one of the best albums ever released. It has been redone many times by various bands. This re-imagination by guitarist Andy Timmons is a fresh take and done all-instrumental. Andy Timmons is no joke on that guitar and really perfects this album. He also sheds a real amazing new light on the already perfect tracks. This isn’t just an overnight album either supposedly it took two years to complete. Of course the original The Beatles “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” is still the best…this is a very true and honorable cover.

Every song on this album is just so strong and vibrant. Supposedly when working on this album, Andy Timmons did it all from memory and never once referenced the original album. Andy’s guitar work is stunning and totally jaw-dropping especially on tracks like “Within You Without You” and “The Benefit of Mr. Kite”. Usually when you have cover albums it is never true to the original but this one tracks along side the original and adds a new level of greatness.

What is also very cool as well is that Andy included the track “Strawberry Fields Forever”, which was original meant to be released on “Sgt. Pepper”. That rendition of the song is just breathtaking. If you are a fan of amazing guitar work or Beatles fan this is must. A MUST!

Track list:
1. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
2. With a Little Help From My Friends
3. Lucy In the Sky With Diamonds
4. Getting Better
5. Fixing a Hole
6. She’s Leaving Home
7. Being For the Benefit of Mr. Kite!
8. Within You, Without You
9. When I’m Sixty-Four
10. Lovely Rita
11. Good Morning, Good Morning
12. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
13. A Day In the Life
14. Strawberry Fields Forever

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *