CD Review: Volbeat “Outlaw Gentlemen and Shady Ladies”

“Outlaw Gentlemen and Shady Ladies”
Producer: Rob Caggiano
Tracks: 14

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

The Danish metal band Volbeat are back with a brand new full length studio album titled “Outlaw Gentlemen and Shady Ladies”. The album features 14 new tracks that were produced by former Anthrax guitarist Rob Caggiano. “Outlaw Gentlemen and Shady Ladies” is the groups 5th studio album and the follow up release to the 2010 album “Beyond Hell/Above Heaven”.

I first heard Volbeat when I saw them open for Metallica on the “Death Magnetic” tour. The band had this sound that was part Social Distortion part Godsmack. The bands performance really blew me away and I instantly became a fan. “Outlaw Gentlemen and Shady Ladies” was an album that I really wanted to like however I think the band has drifted too far from their earlier sound which I loved. Each song on the album seems to feature a mix that is very layered and digital sounding. For me the album listens more like a pop/rock album than a metal album. Songs such as “Lola Montez” and “Cape of Our Hero” are perfect examples of this. Though there was an element of pop on the bands last album however it wasn’t as nearly prevalent.

Don’t get me wrong “Outlaw Gentlemen and Shady Ladies” is not a bad album per say. However it caught me a little off guard as I was not expecting such a fluffy, pop laced album. After a few listens through there were a few tracks such as “The Nameless One” and “Room 24” which features a guest appearance buy metal legend King Diamond that I could see myself listening to more than once but as a whole I was a little underwhelmed by the album.

Track Listing:

1.)    Let’s Shake Some Dust

2.)    Pearl Hart

3.)    The Nameless One

4.)    Dead But Rising

5.)    Cape of Our Hero

6.)    Room 24 (Featuring: King Diamond)

7.)    The Hangman’s Body Count

8.)    My Body

9.)    Lola Montez

10.)  Black Bart

11.)  Lonesome Rider

12.)  The Sinner Is You

13.)  Doc Holliday

14.)  Our Loved Ones

DVD Review “Outlaw Brothers (1990)”

Actors: Frankie Chan, Ken Boyle, Anthony Carpio
Director: Frankie Chan
Rated: Unrated
Studio: Weinstein Company
Release Date: October 30, 2012
Run Time: 102 minutes

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

With all the special effects in films these days it is rare to see classic martial arts films. If rare that action films don’t have any CGI. “Outlaw Brothers” definitely scream 1990 action but still is just raw and out-the-top fun. There is classic car stunts and also some fast and furious martial arts. The reason for this is that the legendary Jackie Chan is behind the action direction in this film. It is also directed by Frankie Chan, who is very well respected as well.

“Outlaw Brothers” is an action-packed film follows the exploits of two car thieves, and the butt-kicking female police officer who is on their trail. Add in drug smugglers and choreographed fight scenes with brooms, fans, wrenches, and knives to make this a turbo-charged, high-octane, martial arts action film.

The DVD itself shows a little age in its transfer. It was obviously not restored for this release, but it still looks decent for its age and this isn’t Blu-ray. So a little bit of noise is expect here. The film also includes both a Chinese and English audio tracks. Honestly, I really enjoyed the English track…since it was so bad it was good. There are no special features included besides the film. There is not even a trailer. Would have loved to seen some behind-the-scenes featurettes on the stunts and martial arts. Nonetheless, fans of Chan and classic action films should not miss this.