CD Review: Nekrogoblikon “Power”

Goblin Records
Producer: Nekrogoblikon
Tracks: 5

Our Score: 5 out of 5 stars

The always entertaining Nekrogoblikon are back with a brand new EP release titled “Power”. The 5 song EP is the follow up release to the bands 2011 full-length album titled “Stench” which contained the song “No One Survives. The video for that song has garnered over 2 million hits on YouTube instantly catapulting the band and their music which they describe as “goblin-core” in to the spot light. The “Powercore” EP which was mixed by the band is being released via Goblin Records and is destine to carry on in the tradition of its predecessors.

After being one of the many who contributed to the 2 million hits for the “No One Survives” survives video I have anxiously been waiting for some new material from the pioneers of goblin-core. Well thankfully I didn’t have to wait long as the bands newest release “Powercore” instantly delivers. Humorous subject matter and crushing instrumentation run rampant throughout the 5 song EP. The band blends everything from dub beats and synth tracks to polka like rhythms mixed with brutal death metal riffs.

The releases opening track “Friends (In Space)” is an assault on the senses as the band throws everything at you but the kitchen sink. The track “Powercore” was probably my favorite as the song features a multitude of layers and sounds that create a different listening experience each time the track plays. My only complaint was I WANT MORE! However these 5 tracks are so well crafted that they will certainly be enough to hold me over until the group’s next release.

Track Listing:
1.) Friends (In Space)
2.) Nothing but Crickets
3.) Powercore
4.) Bells & Whistles
5.) Giraffe

Be sure to check out our exclusive interview with Nekrogoblikon guitarist Alex “Goldberg” Alereza, here