CD Review: MxPx “Plans Within Plans”

“Plans Within Plans”
Rock City Records
Tracks: 13

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“Plans Within Plans” is the 9th studio album by the pop punk band MxPx. The album is the follow up release to the bands 2007 release “Secret Weapon”. The album features 13 new tracks and is the band’s debut release via Rock City Records.

The 3 boys/men from Bremerton, Washington are back with their latest musical offering which is chocked full of that MxPx signature pop/punk sound we have all come to know and love. Right off the bat “Plans Within Plans” catapulted me back to 1995 when I first discovered this band. The groups sound has remained unchanged over the years and could be compared to your favorite pair of jeans. They just fit. Songs such as “Aces Up”, “Best of Times” and “Lucky Guy” cover everything from lost loves and friendships to youthful hopes and dreams. Though I enjoyed most of the tracks on the album I would have liked to have heard a little bit more diversity and growth especially from a band now on its 9th album. I understand the thoughts of if it ain’t broke don’t fix it and not wanting to alienate fans however, this is punk rock! Stretch your legs and experiment a little. At the same time certain things are better left unchanged and MxPx may be one of those things. Long time fans will quickly find solace in the new album while new fans will be exposed to the classic pop/punk experience MxPx is known for.

Track Listing:
1.)    Aces Up
2.)    Screw Loose
3.)    Nothing Left
4.)    The Times
5.)    In The Past
6.)    Best of Times
7.)    Stay on Your Feet
8.)    Lucky Guy
9.)    Far Away
10.)  Cast Down My Heart
11.)  When It Comes to You
12.)  Inside Out
13.)  Nothing’s Gonna Change