Special Edition Vinyl Review: King Diamond “Conspiracy,Them, Abigail, Fatal Portrait”

“Conspiracy, Them, Abigail, Fatal Portrait”
King Diamond
Metal Blade Records
Special Edition Vinyl Picture Discs

Our Score: 4.5 out of 5 stars

With the reintroduction of Vinyl back in to the mainstream many labels have starting re-releasing their back catalogs on titles which either were never available on vinyl or have been long since out of print. Metal Blade Records has been a big proprietor of this practice and their most recent re-releases come from the one and only King Diamond. Media Mikes had the chance to check out four of these releases (“Them, Fatal Portrait, Conspiracy, Abigail”) and needless to say we quite please with the listening experience.

Right out the box before even starting up my turn table I could tell that these four records were going to be something special. All of the albums are pressed on 180 gram vinyl and adorned with beautiful album artwork and photos on both the A and B sides. Probably my favorite of the lot was the photo of a growling King which graces side A of the “Conspiracy” LP. Another thing I notice about the artwork was that all the colors were very vibrant making the art work pop quite nice. Probably the best example of this is that of the seductive woman cloaked in fire on the “Fatal Portrait” album. Not only were these four albums great to look at the sound quality was top notch and consistent across each of the reviewed editions. Classis songs like “Welcome Home”, “Abigail”, “Halloween” and “Victimized” will tear through your speakers as the Kings signature falsetto screams shriek to new levels while the shred-tastic instrumentation blows your mind on an entirely different level.

Metal Blade spared no expense in the re-release of these four albums. The high quality vinyl makes for a tremendous sonic experience while the bold double sided art work provides a nice visual aspect as well. Both fans of the band and vinyl collectors will want surely want to check these out as they are some of the nicer re-releases I have encountered. Another cool thing is that some of these releases will be limited to only 2,000 prints making the collector factor quite high. If you’re into adding some true classic metal to your record collection or want to get these to display merely for the amazing art act fast as these surely won’t be around long.

“Conspiracy” Track Listing:
Side A
1.) At the Gates
2.) Sleepless Nights
3.) Lies
4.) A Visit from the Dead
Side B
5.) The Wedding Dream
6.)” Amon” Belongs to “Them”
7.) Something Weird
8.) Victimized
9.) Let It Be Done
10.) Cremation

“Them” Track Listing:
Side A
1.) Out from the Asylum
2.) Welcome Home
3.) The Invisible Guests
4.) Tea
5.) Mother’s Getting Weaker
Side B
6.) Bye, Bye, Missy
7.) A Broken Spell
8.) The Accusation Chair
9.) Them
10.) Twilight Symphony
11.) Coming Home

“Abigail” Track Listing:
Side A
1.) Funeral
2.) Arrival
3.) A Mansion in Darkness
4.) The Family Ghost
5.) The 7th Day of July
Side B
6.) Omens
7.) The Possession
8.) Abigail
9.) Black Horseman

“Fatal Portrait” Track Listing:
Side A
1.) The Candle
2.) The Jonah
3.) The Portrait
4.) Dressed in White
Side B
5.) Charon
6.) Lurking in the Dark
7.) Halloween
8.) Voices from the Past
9.) Haunted

CD Review: Municipal Waste “The Fatal Feast: Waste in Space”

Municipal Waste
“The Fatal Feast: Waste in Space”
Nuclear Blast Records
Producer: Municipal Waste
Tracks: 16

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

“The Fatal Feast: Waste in Space” is the fifth album from the Richmond, VA thrash band Municipal Waste. The band consists of Tony Foresta- Vocals, Ryan Waste- Guitar/Vocals, LandPhil- Bass/Vocal and Dave White- Drums. “The Fatal Feast: Waste in Space” features 16 new tracks and is being released via Nuclear Blast Records. This album is the follow up release to the bands 2009 album “Massive Aggressive”.

Relentless and in your face thrash metal! From the opening riffs of “Repossession” to the last note of “Residential Disaster” the latest album by Municipal Waste takes hold and won’t let go. The albums sound is very reminiscent of early 80’s hardcore groups like M.O.D. and Suicidal Tendencies.

Guitarist/Vocalist Ryan Waste lays down some blistering riffs that are truly worthy of the head banging induced neck pain they will surely cause. Vocalist Tony Foresta’s straight forward guttural vocal performances energize all 16 songs while bassist Landphil and drummer Dave White provide a thunderous bass driven back line.

While tracks such as “Covered in Sick/The Barfer” and “The Monster with 21 Faces” were personal favorites all of the tracks on the album had a little something for everyone. Fans of both new and old thrash/hardcore will surely enjoy listening to Municipal Wastes “The Fatal Feast: Waste in Space”.

Track Listing:
1.) Waste in Space
2.) Repossession
3.) New Dead Masters
4.) Unholy Abductor
5.) Idiot Check
6.) Covered in Sick/The Barfer
7.) You’re Cut Off
8.) Authority Complex
9.) Standards and Practices
10.) Crushing Chest Wound
11.) The Monster with 21 Faces
12.) Jesus Freaks
13.) The Fatal Feast
14.) 12 Step Program
15.) Death Tax
16.) Residential Disaster