Blu-ray Review “Shock Waves”

shockwavesActors: Peter Cushing, Brooke Adams, John Carradine
Directors: Ken Wiederhorn
Rated: PG (Parental Guidance Suggested)
Studio: Blue Underground
Release Date: November 25, 2014
Run Time: 85 minutes

Film: 3 out of 5 stars
Blu-ray: 2 out of 5 stars
Extras: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I remember the first time that I saw the VHS box to “Shock Waves” at the loyal mom and pop video store. I mean what young boy can put down a box with the words Nazi zombies?! This cult classic is is making’s its Blu-ray debut thanks to Blue Underground. This film still holds up and is quite fun. The film stars Peter Cushing (The Curse of Frankenstein), Brooke Adams (The Dead Zone) and John Carradine (The Howling). The zombies aren’t very zombified according to today’s standards. I loved the idea of people randomly just jumping out of the water, still effective. Worth checking out, but be wary of the lacking audio/video presentation.

Official Premise: In the dark days of World War II, the Nazi High Command ordered its scientists to create a top secret race of indestructible zombie storm troopers – un-living, unfeeling, unstoppable monstrosities that killed with their bare hands. They were known as The Death Corps. No member of this horrific SS unit was ever captured by Allied Forces – and, somewhere off the coast of Florida they have survived…

Blue Underground claims that this is fulled remastered and restored from original elements but this film looks pretty sad with its 1080p transfer. There is a whole lot of consistent noise in the background throughout. The DTS-HD Master Audio Mono is pretty harsh as well. The dialogue seems a muted but the score is still great and sounds decent, courtesy of composer Richard Einhorn

The special features are a nice bonus though. There is an audio commentary with Co-Writer/Director Ken Wiederhorn, Make-Up Designer Alan Ormsby and Filmmaker Fred Olen Ray. There is a new interview with Producer/Cinematographer Reuben Trane called “Nazi Zombies On A Budget”. “Notes For The Undead” is an interview with Composer Richard Einhorn. “Sole Survivor” is an interview with Star Brooke Adams. “From Flipper to Shock Waves” is an interview with Star Luke Halpin. Lastly there is an trailer, TV/radio spots and a poster/stills gallery included, closing out the extras.

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *