DVD Review “Gilligan’s Planet: The Complete Series”

gilligansVoices of: Bob Denver, Alan Hale, Jr., Russell Johnson, Jim Backus, Natalie Schafer, Dawn Wells
Directed by: Hal Sutherland
Distributed by: Warner Archive
Rating: Not Rated
Running Time: 292 minutes

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

When I saw that this was coming out on DVD, I honestly have never even heard of it. I used to watch “Gilligan’s Island” as a kid though, so I know the idea around the show. This was in fact the second animated spin-off of the popular sitcom “Gilligan’s Island”. The first, which was “The New Adventures of Gilligan” aired in 1974-1975. What is cool about this is that the cast of “Gilligan’s Island” actually returned to their respective roles except for Tina Louise who played Ginger Grant. Dawn Wells ended up pulling double duty voicing Ginger as well as her own original character, Mary Ann Summers. Not the greatest of the bunch of cartoons that were born in the 80’s. If you are a hardcore fan of “Gilligan’s Island” and remember this show, it might be worth picking up.

Official Premise: It’s a brand new story about The Castaways! Leaving their tiny island after years and months and days, they built a little spaceship, crude but it could fly. They left their home and lost their way, between the stars and sky, they went from an island to star, lost on Gilligan’s Planet.” It’s true – The Castaways are now lost in space! They’re all here, in this strange, new world, Gilligan (voice of Bob Denver), the Skipper (voice of Alan Hale, Jr.), the Millionaire (voice of Jim Backus), his Wife (voice of Natalie Schafer), the Movie Star (voice of Dawn Wells), the Professor (Russell Johnson) and Mary Ann (voice of Dawn Wells). Now joined by Gilligan’s alien sidekick Bumper, they begin a whole new life on a whole new world, while still trying to repair the now space-worthy SS Minnow and return home from their infinite three hour tour. It’s something old, something new in this Saturday morning cartoon sit-com sci-fi romp!

I can’t imagine why 😉 but this show only lasted for 13 episodes in one season. The episodes are “I Dream of Genie”; “Turnabout Is Fair Play”; “Let Sleeping Minnows Lie”; “Journey to the Center of Gilligan’s Planet”; “Amazing Colossal Gilligan”; “Bumper to Bumper”; “Road to Boom”; “Too Many Gilligans”; “Space Pirates”; “Invaders of the Lost Barque”; “Wings”; “Super Gilligan” & “Gilligan’s Army”. This complete series DVD release is a Manufacture-on-Demand (MOD) release and it is available exclusively through Warner’s online store and Amazon.com. So this also means that if you do want this DVD, I would get it quickly since you don’t know how long it is going to be produced for. The episodes looks as good as you would think they would for this lost show. They are presented in their original aspect ratio: 4 X 3 full frame – 1.37:1. There are no additional special features included besides the episodes.

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *