CD Review: Powerman 5000 “Builders of the Future”

Powerman-5000-Builders-Of-The-Future-cover-art“Builders of the Future”
Powerman 5000
T-Boy Records/UMe
Tracks: 10

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

Powerman 5000 are back with their first collection of new material in nearly five years. “Builders of the Future” features 10 brand new tracks reminiscent of the groups groundbreaking 1999 release “Tonight the Stars Revolt”. The new album is being released via T-Boy Records and is available in both standard and deluxe versions with the deluxe version featuring two additional tracks.

A lot can happen when a band takes extended time off between releasing new material. In the case of Powerman 5000 the group appears to have gone back to their beginnings as their new album “Builders of the Future” has a very late 90’s nu-metal sound. Though the sound of the album definitely feels a bit dated it’s not so far out in that it feels out of place. Spider One and the band combine both new and old PM5K sounds on standout tracks such as “We Want It All” and “Live It Up Before You’re Dead” and even venture into acoustic territory with the track “I Want to Kill You” which is an eerie little track the sticks with you long after initially hearing it.

Though I found a number of songs to be a bit repetitive and the production tended to be a little overdone there was not enough negatives to classify this as a “bad” album however, it is lacking quite a bit in order to be considered a “great” album. Long time PM5K fans will certainly be happy to hear this album as it is a very familiar sound however newer fans to the group may not fully appreciate the album without first going back and listening to the bands earlier releases.

Track Listing:
1.) Invade, Destroy, Repeat
2.) We Want It All
3.) How to Be a Human
4.) You’re Gonna Love It, If You Like It or Not
5.) Builders of the Future
6.) I Want to Kill You
7.) Modem World
8.) Live It Up Before You’re Dead
9.) I Can’t Fucking Hear You
10.) Evil World

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *