CD Review “Metalocalypse: The Doomstar Requiem – A Klok Opera”

“The Doomstar Requiem A Klok Opera”
BS Records
Producer: Brendan Small/Bear McCreary
Tracks: 21

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

The original score from “Metalocalypse: The Doomstar Requiem A Klok Opera” is now available on CD in all its shredding glory. Written specifically for the one hour animated special series creator Brendan Small and a 50 piece orchestra helmed by Bear McCreary (Battlestar Galactica/Walking Dead) join forces to create 21 tracks the tell the story of the rescue efforts to save Dethklok guitarist Toki Wartooth arguably one of the bands most valuable assets.

Jammed pack with over the top instrumentation and guest appearance by Jack Black, Mark Hamill and Malcolm McDowell “Metalocalypse: The Doomstar Requiem A Klok Opera” will blow your face off with one fowl swoop. Songs such as “Magnus and the Assassin” and “The Fans are Chatting” are dark and heavy with comedic story lines while tracks like “Abigail’s Lullaby” and “En Antris Et Stella Fatum Cruenti” teater on the edge of operatic greatness. This is heavy/progressive metal like you have never heard before.

If you were already a fan of the television show or only caught the recent “Metalocalypse: The Doomstar Requiem A Klok Opera” one hour special the accompanying soundtrack is a must. Brandon Small and Bear McCreary have pushed the envelope with this score and the unlikely pairing has taken each of these two’s performances to the next level. For those wanting more from this monumental occasion “Metalocalypse: The Doomstar Requiem A Klok Opera” will be available in a Deluxe Edition format which includes a “Making of” featurette, interviews and the full libretto. Pull yourself up off the floor after experiencing the visual presentation of this release and get yourself the audio companion now!

Track Listing:
• The Birth/Fata Sidus Oritur/One of Us Must Die
• Magnus and the Assassin
• Partying Around the World
• Tracking/Ishnifus and the Challenge
• How Can I Be a Hero?
• The Fans are Chatting
• Abigail’s Lullaby
• Some Time Ago…
• The Duel
• I Believe
• A Traitor Amongst Them
• Training, Do It All for my Brother
• Before You Go
• The Answer is Your Past
• The Depths of Humanity
• Givin’ Back to You
• En Antris Et Stella Fatum Cruenti
• The Crossroads
• Blazing Star
• Morte Lumina
• Doomstar Orchestra

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *