CD Review: Korn “The Paradigm Shift”

“The Paradigm Shift”
Release Date: October 8, 2013
Label: Prospect Park (Universal)
Total Length: 42:53

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

It is crazy to think but I have been Korn fan for over 15 years. I have always been a fan of their albums. I was really hoping that “The Paradigm Shift” was going to continue that trend but I felt like it a bit of the same. I listened to the album about 10 times over before writing this and I just wasn’t blown away. I liked it but it didn’t really stand out to me. When I listen to an album, I look for a songs that make me stop what I am doing and actually listen.  This album works as background music but nothing overall special.

“The Paradigm Shift” is an important landmark for the band though since this album marks the first time that Brian ‘Head’ Welch has recorded with the band since their 2003 album “Take A Look In The Mirror” (also one of my favorite albums). He was always one of my favorites and recently returned to the bad after his religious departure years ago. I read a bunch of article online about this album that they delivered a new song and approach to their songs but I thought felt like it is typical Korn. I have to admit that the album does get a kick-ass start with “Prey for Me” and even “Love & Meth” is a sweet track but after that it just sort of blend together for me.

Track Listing:
1. Prey For Me
2. Love & Meth
3. What We Do
4. Spike In My Veins
5. Mass Hysteria
6. Paranoid And Aroused
7. Never Never
8. Punishment Time
9. Lullaby For A Sadist
10. Victimized
11. It’s All Wrong

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *