CD Review “Skyfall: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack”

Author: Thomas Newman
Release Date: October 22, 2012
Label: Sony Classical
Tracks: 30
Running Time: 77 minutes

Our Score: 2 out of 5 stars

2012 brings us the 50th anniversary of 007 James Bond.  When it comes to James Bond, the music have always been so important.  The theme songs are always memorable and epic. But even beyond that the scores have to move along the film with a specific feeling.  This score disappoints quite a bit and doesn’t really scream “Bond…James Bond“. The score does run almost 80 minutes over the 30 tracks but I just wish it was more effective throughout instead of just 80 minutes of dull music. “Breadcrumbs” is the best track on here but that is one because it is a homage to past Bond scores.

Firstly, let’s get the cat out of the bag and point out that Adele’s title track is not on this score.  Right off the bat, I am left with a bad taste in my mouth.  That track would have been a nice kick-off for this album and an incentive to purchase this score.  I understand they want to sell some singles for the track but I would have liked it to also be included here.  Secondly, I am not a fan of Newman’s score at all. He is typically a very well respected composer but I enjoy his scores like “American Beauty” and “The Shawshank Redemption”.  They have this  certain quieter and simple feel but still very epic.  “Skyfall” tries to be epic and ends up just feel like it is trying to hard.

Track Listings
1. Grand Bazaar, Istanbul
2. Voluntary Retirement
3. New Digs
4. Severine
5. Brave New World
6. Shanghai Drive
7. Jellyfish
8. Silhouette
9. Modigliani
10. Day Wasted
11. Quartermaster
12. Someone Usually Dies
13. Komodo Dragon
14. The Bloody Shot
15. Enjoying Death
16. The Chimera
17. Close Shave
18. Health & Safety
19. Granborough Road
20. Tennyson
21. Enquiry
22. Breadcrumbs
23. Skyfall
24. Kill Them First
25. Welcome to Scotland
26. She’s Mine
27. The Moors
28. Deep Water
29. Mother
30. Adrenaline

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *