CD Review: Blake Shelton “Cheers, it’s Christmas”

Blake Shelton
“Cheers, it’s Christmas”
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Label: Warner Bros.
Running Time: 42 minutes

Our Score: 4.5 out of 5 stars

In my early years, I would never be caught dead listening to country music.  In the last five years or so though, I have changed that tune quite a bit. Blake Shelton was one of those reasons. His sound is just so unique, enjoyable and he just has this wonderful presence.  When I heard he is coming out with a Christmas (my favorite time of the year) album, I literally got super excited.  The album itself is not just a bland cookie-cutter release though. It is a really great mix of classic tracks and some really fun new country songs. When I first received this album, I kept it on loop for almost 8 hours. Usually you can tell when an album starts looping, not with this one.  It just blends together so well and continuously entertains throughout the whole album.

Blake Shelton is not alone on this album though he has some really great duets as well.  On “Jingle Bell Rock” he sings along with Miranda Lambert and it is a wonderful collaboration. On “Oklahoma Christmas”, which is a very fun track, it features Reba on the track. “There’s A New Kid In Town” is a really sweet song featuring Blake singing with Kelly Clarkson. “Home” features a duet with Michael Bublé  and it is easily my favorite track on the album.  “Blue Christmas” features Pistol Annies and is a great take on the classic song. “Silver Bells,” features a nice duet between by Blake and Xenia.   Blake really nails the track, “The Very Best Time Of Year” as he debuts with Trypta-Phunk. Blake even has a track debuting with this mom Dorothy Shackleford on “Time For Me To Come Home”, which is very sweet as well.

Blake Shelton does not take this reign of ACM and CMA Male Vocalist of the year lightly.  You can tell that he is given 100% in this album just like it was a non-holiday release. If you are looking for a way to get in the holiday mood, this album will surely do the trick and kick-start the season early.  I am also very happy that now “Cheers, it’s Christmas” will easily become a must-listen each year during the Christmas season. I look forward to sharing this album with my friends and family as well and hopefully it will have the same effect it does on them as it has me.  Thanks Blake for sharing your heart with us and delivering a wonderful Christmas album!

Track Listing:
1. Jingle Bell Rock (feat. Miranda Lambert)
2. White Christmas
3. Oklahoma Christmas (feat. Reba)
4. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
5. There’s A New Kid In Town (feat. Kelly Clarkson)
6. Santa’s Got A Choo Choo Train
7. Home (feat. Michael Bublé)
8. Winter Wonderland
9. The Christmas Song
10. Blue Christmas (feat. Pistol Annies)
11. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
12. Silver Bells (feat. Xenia)
13. Time For Me To Come Home (feat. Dorothy Shackleford)
14. The Very Best Time Of Year (feat. Trypta-Phunk)

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *