Blu-ray Review “Slipknot {sic}nesses Live at Download”

Starring: Slipknot
MPAA Rating: Not Rated
Distributed by: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Release Date: July 31, 2012
Running Time: 159 minutes (incl. extras)

Blu-ray Concert: 4 out of 5 stars
Extras: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Where you are a fan of Slipknot or not, they really know how to put on a amazing live performance. Their latest album “All Hope is Gone” was released back in August of 2008 and honestly it has never left my iPhone since it was released. This concert was filmed on June 13, 2009 at the Download Festival, in Donington Park, England. Let me tell you this concert looked like it was a mega blast with the band nailing it in front of 80,000 fans! Even though the best fan to experience this band is live, which I have done personally, this is the best second option and will not leave you disappointed. This concert was initially released on DVD from Roadrunner Records on September 28, 2010. This is a great upgrade for all Slipknot fans and very highly recommended.

“Slipknot {sic}nesses Live at Download” was released on Blu-ray by Eagle Vision, part of Eagle Rock Entertainment. They are known for releasing most of their music Blu-rays with an 1080i transfer in 1.78:1. I am not sure why they can’t bump it up to 1080p. Well, either way this Blu-ray concert still looks damn good and is a real upgrade from DVD. Besides the video, the most important part of this release is the audio track. There is sweet DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track as well as an uncompressed LPCM 2.0 Stereo track. I obviously prefer the 5.1 track and it does not disappoint on Blu-ray, it is extremely sharp,  on key and kicked my surround sound’s ass!

The special features are most presented in SD but I really enjoyed them, nonetheless. There is a 45 minutes documentary directed by the band’s M. Shawn Crahan aka Clown titled “Audible Visions of {sic}nesses”. It gives us a look backstage with the band covering a variety of performances. One of my favorite Slipknot songs ever is “Snuff” and there is “The Making of Snuff” included as well with a lot of backstage footage and one of my favs, Malcolm McDowell.  Though it is still weird seeing Corey Taylor in drag, LOL. Lastly there are four music videos including: “Snuff” (only extra in 1080i), “Dead Memories”, “Sulfur”, “Psychosocial”.

“Slipknot {sic}nesses Live at Download” Track Listing:
01. 742617000027
02. (Sic)
03. Eyeless
04. Wait and Bleed
05. Get This
06. Before I Forget
07. Sulfur
08. The Blister Exists
09. Dead Memories
10. Left Behind
11. Disasterpiece
12. Vermilion
13. Everything Ends
14. Psychosocial
15. Duality
16. People = Shit
17. Surfacing
18. Spit It Out

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *