CD Review: Shadows Fall “Fire From the Sky”

Shadows Fall
“Fire From the Sky”
Razor & Tie
Producer: Adam Dutkiewicz
Tracks: 10

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

“Fire From the Sky” is the 7th release from Massachusetts metalers Shadows Falls. The album is the follow up to the bands 2009 release titled “Retribution”. “Fire From the Sky” is being released via Razor & Tie and features 10 new tracks that were produced by Killswitch Engage guitarist Adam Dutkiewicz.

Having followed Shadows Falls since the late 90’s it was great to hear that the band would be putting out a new album as the bands last release was in 2009. It goes without saying that I was quite anxious to dive in to the new material. The songs feature some really great playing and a heightened intensity however I really couldn’t find anything else that really grabbed me. In my opinion the song structures were very similar to those hear on the bands last 3. Producer Adam D. did a great job getting the most out of the songs and the albums intensity proves that. I really felt that a majority of the riffs on this album were a bit stock. There were a few tracks that did rise above the other on the album. “Divide and Conquer” was just a sheer metal track while the album’s title track “Fire From the Sky” had a brutal slugging feel to it which made you want bang your head and pump your fist

Long time Shadows Fall fans expecting something new and fresh with this release may not find what they are looking for. However if you can appreciate the album solely based on intensity and skill then you will surely want to pick up a copy of this album.

Track Listing:
1.) The Unknown
2.) Divide and Conquer
3.) Weight of the World
4.) Nothing Remains
5.) Fire From the Sky
6.) Save Your Soul
7.) Blind Faith
8.) Lost Within
9.) Walk the Edge
10.) The Wasteland

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *